h1

My Husband’s Favorite Childhood Dish

November 21, 2010

Last weekend we had my father in law over to celebrate his birthday.

My husband made this dish.  My husband doesn’t cook very often, but he loves this dish and when he has a taste for it he makes it.

It’s chicken in a paprika gravy.  His mother made it for him and I think she had it when she was a girl.  It’s a Czech dish.

I’ve grown to love it too.  It’s a pretty easy dish that can be made with your favorite part of the chicken.  My husband says that his mom made it with chicken legs, but he makes it with boneless skinless chicken breasts.  He does that because he knows I’m not a fan of dark meat.

Chicken Paprikash

  • 6-8 Chicken Legs or 4 Large Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, halved
  • 1 Medium Onion, diced
  • 1/4 C Butter
  • 2 T Paprika
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Pepper
  • 1 1/2 C Water or Chicken Broth
  • 1 C Sour Cream

In a large frying pan, saute onion in butter until tender.  Add the paprika, salt and pepper.  Add the chicken, browning for about 10 minutes.  Remove the chicken from the pan and add the water (or broth-the original recipe calls for water but I added the broth) slowly to deglaze.  Add the chicken back to the pan and cook covered for an hour.  Remove the chicken again and add the sour cream.  If you would prefer to have a thicker gravy you can add 1 T Flour to a small amount of water and slowly stir it into the gravy.  Serve the chicken and gravy with your favorite side. 

We serve it with potato dumplings but this can be paired with mashed potatoes too.

2 comments

  1. This looks delicious. I’m going to try it after Thanksgiving. I’ll have to double it for my family, but that will guarantee a little bit of leftovers!


    • Kathy-
      We made one pan of legs, about 6, and one pan of breasts, about 4 cut in half, and we had plenty for 6 people. I hope you enjoy it. Let me know what side you serve it with.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

