h1

Pumpkin Butter Pie

November 17, 2010

I’m cheating today.

The pictures in this post are not mine.  I know that you can figure that out all by yourself, but I feel that I have to at least admit it.  I do have that pie plate, though.  Next week when I make the pie, I’ll be sure to share a picture.

I’m cheating because I wanted to share this awesome recipe with you in advance.  That way if you want to impress your guests this Thanksgiving, you have enough time to get the ingredients.  I pick up the pumpkin butter at Trader Joe’s.  You can make it yourself, if you’re so inclined.

Pumpkin butter is so tasty.  Really.  If you like pumpkin, you’re going to love pumpkin butter.  My husband loves this pie and he’s not a fan of pumpkin pie.

This is the best tasting pie I’ve ever made or eaten.  It’s the butter.  There aren’t too many ingredients for the pie, so it’s the butter.  The cream takes it to another level.  Make it and it will make you so happy.  Trust me.  Serve it to guest and tell them it’s an old family recipe.

Pumpkin Butter Pie

  • 4 Eggs
  • 1-10 oz jar of Pumpkin Butter
  • 1 C Pureed Pumpkin
  • 2 C Evaporated Milk
  • 1 Piecrust
  • FOR THE BUTTERSCOTCH CREAM:
  • 1 C Brown Sugar, Packed
  • ¼ C Light Corn Syrup
  • 4 T Butter, cut into pieces
  • ¼ t Kosher Salt
  • 1-½ C Heavy Cream, Divided Use
  • 1 T Bourbon (optional)

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Place a cookie sheet in the oven while it preheats and place the pie on the cookie sheet while it cooks.  This will insure that the bottom of the pie crust browns.

For the pie:

In a large bowl, whisk the eggs.  Add the pumpkin butter, pumpkin, evaporated milk and whisk until well combined.   You can add a dash of ginger and nutmeg to the mix but it’s not necessary.  Pour the filling into the pie crust and bake until the center of the pie is set, about 1-1 1/2 hours.  While baking, check the crust after 30 minutes.  If the edges begin to brown too quickly, cover them with foil.  Once the pie is done, transfer to a wire rack and let cool for at least 2 hours before serving.

Butterscotch cream:

In a heavy saucepan, heat the brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and salt. Cook until the sugar has dissolved and the mixture starts to bubble, about 5 minutes. Stir with a wooden spoon during the first 2 minutes but do not stir after that point. Remove the pan from the heat and very carefully add 1/2 cup of the cream. Stir in the bourbon.  Let the sauce cool to room temperature. In a bowl combine the remaining cream (1 Cup) and 1/3 Cup of the butterscotch sauce. Beat on high until stiff peaks form, 2-3 minutes.  Top on the pie.   Reserve the rest of the sauce to enjoy on any treat you like such as ice cream.

Enjoy!

You can also blind bake the crust for 20 minutes, using beans to weigh it down before filling it and following the recipe.

This is my pie!

3 comments

  1. […] it’s also the time of the year when I obsess over pumpkin: pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffin donuts are just a few of the things I love to make.  I saw this […]


  2. […] Pumpkin Butter Pie […]


  3. […] all week, prepping for Thursday.  This morning, I made the pecan pie.  Right now, I’m making pumpkin butter pie.  This will free me up to make kolaczky tomorrow morning.  I think I make the whole spread with […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

