h1

H is for…Hummus

November 13, 2010

For those of you that aren’t aware of it, I used to be a vegetarian.  Not a hard-core one.  I ate fish.  I just didn’t eat chicken, red meat or pork. 

I didn’t eat meat for a really long time.  It’s hard for me to pinpoint when it started.  I know that after highschool I eliminated red meat and pork.  Eventually I stopped eating chicken.  I was heavy and wanted to be healthier.   I didn’t eat meat for years.  All through college and the first few years of marriage.  I guess if you made me tell you how long it was I would guess that it was almost 15 years. 

Why did I start to eat meat again?  During my pregnancy I had gestational diabetes and I needed to add a lot more protein to my diet.  Being married to a diabetic that really freaked me out and I started to eat meat again.  I never went back.

But while I was meat free, I discovered hummus.

I love hummus.  It was one of the easiest and yummiest dish out there.

I stopped making it for a while because I thought it was a dish that wasn’t too manly.  I don’t know why I thought that, but I did.  It’s not true.

My  husband likes hummus.

I love it on sandwiches and as a dip.

I especially love it with pita chips.  Pita chips are better than crackers. 

Hummus

  • 1-15 oz can Chickpeas, drained
  • 1/4 C Lemon Juice
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 1/2 t Ground Cumin
  • 4 cloves Garlic, skin still on
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Place the garlic in a preheated saute pan and heat through.  Set aside and remove the skin.  Place the rinsed chickpeas, garlic, olive oil, cumin and salt and pepper in a food processor.  Slowly add the lemon juice, tasting as you go.  (You may not use all of the juice.)  Blend to your liking.  Refrigerate for 2 hours and serve with pita chips. 

Make pita chips by cutting a  whole pita into eighths and then splitting it them half.  Place in a preheated 350 degree oven for 10 minutes until the edges just start to brown.   Store in an air tight container.

4 comments

  1. Megan just told me today that she went to the healthy section at school the other day and bought hummus. It was her first time trying it, and she said she really likes it. Well, by golly…I’ve got a recipe to try!


    • Kathy-
      The great thing about this recipe is you can adjust the flavors to your liking. Plus its easy and healthy!
      Karen


  2. […] thought I had a chickpeas in the pantry, but must have used them to make humus.  That’s another great thing about this recipe, it’s so adaptable.   Plus, I only […]


  3. […] Hummus […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

