h1

Another Awesome Side Dish-Roasted Broccoli

November 11, 2010

I’m always looking for new ways to serve veggies.  It’s the mom in me, I guess. 

I have my favorites and my favorite ways to prepare them but I’m always looking for something different.

This broccoli dish is so simple to make.  I love that.  It’s also very tasty.  I love that too.  Of course I love that Meeshie also loves to eat this dish too.

Finally I really love it because it gives me yet another reason to use truffle salt.

The original post is from Jenna’s Everything Blog.  She’s not kidding.  She’s got everything going on there.  Too cute.

Roasted Broccoli with Garlic

  • 2 whole Large Broccoli Crowns
  • 4 cloves Garlic
  • 4 T Olive Oil
  • ½ t Sugar
  • ½ t Truffle Salt
  • ¼ t Fresh Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 C Parmesan Cheese, freshly grated

Preheat the oven to 500 degrees, with a large metal baking sheet inside. Prepare the rack so that the sheet is closer to the element than not. Heating the baking sheet fully is 100% essential in getting the best flavor out of the broccoli.  

Cut the broccoli into segments. You want them to be on the large side, about the length of the palm of your hand, otherwise they won’t roast properly—instead, they’ll steam and become floppy. Also, cut them so that there is a flat side on most pieces–just slice right through that broccoli crown (instead of separating off individual florets). You want flat sides for the caramelization to happen.  Mince the garlic, then mix the broccoli, garlic, oil, sugar, salt, and pepper together in a bowl with your hands. Make sure all the broccoli pieces are coated as evenly as possible.  

When the oven is fully preheated, take out the hot sheet pan. Working quickly, arrange the broccoli on the pan. Make sure there is some space between the pieces, and always lay each piece with its flat side down.   Roast for 10-12 minutes. Remove, place them back in the bowl you used to coat and toss with the parmesan and serve.

Enjoy!

2 comments

  1. I’m so glad you like this! Truffle salt . . . mmmmmm, I’ll have to try that. Sounds divine.


    • Jenna-
      Keep ’em coming!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

