h1

Pumpkin Roll

November 7, 2010

Okay, the flu is going through our house.

Thursday Meeshie had it and while I was home with her I thought I would get a jump start on my Thanksgiving menu.  I’m glad I did.  I had to cancel all my plans for Saturday as the flu took me out of commission for the day.

I made my pumpkin roll while I was home.

I love this dessert.  It makes plenty to serve and share.  I always bring one over to my neighbor’s house.  I like to make it in advance and wrap it really well and stick it in the freezer.  It’s easier to cut up that way too.  Take it out of the freezer, cut it and by the time you’re done setting it out it’s defrosted.

Pumpkin Roll

  • Powdered Sugar
  • 3/4 C Flour
  • 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/2 t Cloves
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 3 Large Eggs
  • 1 C Granulated Sugar
  • 2/3 C Pumpkin
  • 1 C Chopped Pecans (optional)
  • 1-8 oz Package Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1 C Powdered Sugar, sifted
  • 6 T Butter, softened
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1/2 t Nutmeg
  • Additional Powdered Sugar for garnish

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.  Grease a 15×10 inch jelly roll pan and line it with parchment paper.  Grease the parchment paper.  Prepare a large tea towel with powdered sugar.

Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, cloves and salt in a small bowl.  Beat the eggs and sugar in a large bowl until thick.  Beat in the pumpkin.  Stir in the flour mixture and spread it evenly into a prepared pan.  Sprinkle with the nuts, if desired.  Bake for 13-15 minutes or until the top of the cake springs back when touched.  Once removed from the oven, immediately loosen and turn the cake onto the prepared towel.  Carefull peel off the paper. Let cool.

Beat the cream cheese, powdered sugar, butter, vanilla and nutmeg in a small mixer bowl until smooth.  Spread the cream cheese mixture over the cake.  Starting with the narrow end, roll up the cake.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar before serving.

I like to cut the roll in half before wrapping it in plastic wrap.  One 15 oz can of pumpkin makes two batches of the pumpkin roll or four rolls.

6 comments

  1. Why do you have to live so far away….why can’t I be your neighbor? That looks so good!


    • Kathy-
      You are too sweet!
      Karen


  2. I want to be your neighbor too!!!


  3. […] it’s also the time of the year when I obsess over pumpkin: pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffin donuts are just a few of the things I love to make.  I saw this recipe for pumpkin […]


  4. […] Pumpkin Roll […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

