h1

Pecan Chicken Strips

November 4, 2010

We love chicken at my house.  Meeshie especially loves it.

I came across this recipe and was intrigued.  Shawn’s Plate is a great blog with lots of good eats.

I loved the idea of the pecans with the chicken.  I thought the flavor would be great together.  I was right.  This chicken dish was so good that Meeshie ate it as is.  No dipping.

This recipe is so easy and tasty.  I made a few variations to the original recipe and I’m so happy with the results.

Pecan Chicken

  • 2 whole Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • ½ C Milk
  • 1/4 C All-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 C Finely Chopped Pecans
  • 1/4 C Italian Breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 t Truffle Salt
  • ½ t Black Pepper
  • 1/4 t Shallot Salt
  • 2 T Cooking Oil
  • 2 T Unsalted Butter

 Cut chicken into strips, about 8-10 pieces per breast. Place in a bowl, and add the milk.  Set aside and soak the chicken in the milk for at least a half an hour.  

In a shallow dish, mix flour, pecans, breadcrumbs, salts (if you don’t have truffle and shallot salt you can substitute season salt), and pepper. Dredge chicken in flour mixture. In a heavy skillet, heat oil and butter until sizzling. Place chicken pieces in the skillet and allow to brown lightly.  If there is not enough room in the skillet for all the pieces, cook them in batches turning each piece over and placing them on a plate until each piece is browned.  Put all the pieces back in the skillet and place the skillet in  a preheated 375 degree oven. Bake for 15  minutes.

Serve with your favorite vegetable and enjoy.  I made it with some broccoli that I’ll be sharing later.

This makes 4 generous servings of chicken.

6 comments

  1. Truffle Salt 🙂


  2. Hi Meeshie’s Mom!

    Thank you for visiting my blog and giving me a mention on yours! I love the addition of truffle salt…I just purchased my first jar and it’s my new favorite thing. In the meantime, I am so loving your blog!

    Shawn


    • Shawn-
      We love truffle salt. Especially on veggies. Thanks so much for the recipe!
      Karen


  3. Hi Karen,

    I was talking to Claudia at Jessica’s party and she said you were home with the flu. I hope you feel better soon!

    Lisa


    • Lisa-
      Thanks I am feeling more myself today.
      Karen


  4. […] wanted to make the pecan chicken strips for dinner the other night but realized I didn’t have any pecans.  I went through them all […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

