h1

Napa Cabbage Salad

October 26, 2010

My friend gave me this recipe a little while ago.

I’ve been waiting for the right opportunity to make it.  That came over the weekend for my nephew’s birthday. 

My friend told me the dressing is so good that she just wants to drink it straight.  Now that I’ve made this, I know exactly what she means.  The dressing, the nuts and the cabbage are such an unusual pairing that really works.

It is such a simple recipe that seems like it isn’t.

I love recipes like that.

Napa Cabbage Salad

  • 1-3 oz package of Chicken flavored Ramon noodles, crushed
  • 1/4 C Butter
  • 1/2 C Sesame Seeds
  • 1/2 C Almonds, slivered
  • 1 Large Head of Napa Cabbage
  • 6 Green Onions
  • 1/4 C Cider Vinegar
  • 3/4 C Olive Oil
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 2 T Soy Sauce

In a saute pan, melt butter and add the crushed Ramon noodles, almonds and sesame seeds.  Stir until brown.  Add the seasoning from the Ramon noodles.  Toss and set aside.

Finally chop the cabbage and onions.  Place in a large bowl and toss.

In a saucepan heat the vinegar, sugar, oil and soy sauce.  Bring to a boil.  Remove from heat and let cool.

When you are ready to serve,  combine the noodle mixture and the dressing to the cabbage.  Toss.  Don’t toss too early or the noodle mixture will be soggy.

Thanks Laura for an awesome recipe.

7 comments

  1. Yummmm that looks good. I’m going to try this one.


    • Denise-
      It is. Did I mention that I don’t normally like salads like this? It’s that good.

      Karen


  2. I am so glad you liked it! I also wanted to drink the dressing.My husband said we should marinate chicken breasts in the dressing and then grill them
    MMMMMMM!!!!!


    • Laura-
      I think the dressing would be a great marinade.
      Karen


  3. I make something similar to this, except that I use Bok Choy. No sesame seeds, and I don’t bring the dressing to a boil. The ramen flavor packet goes right into the dressing (which I just put into a Mason jar and shake well). I also use Oriental flavored ramen.


    • Kathy-
      You’re right, your version is similar!
      Karen


    • I also use the bok cho /napa mixture & oriental flavor packet as I think this is kinda orientalish …..I use sunflower seeds



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

