h1

Spinach Bread

October 19, 2010

I love spinach.

I love bread.

I found this bread on a menu at a pizza place.  I don’t generally order bread, or any appetizer, when I have pizza but I was out to lunch with my mother and Meeshie.  Meeshie isn’t a fan of pizza and the place we went to is known for its deep dish.

Where I live, we take pizza for granted.

In Chicago and the outlying areas, you can a great pizza almost anywhere.  There are mom and pop stores in every neighborhood.  You may like one pizza because the sauce is great, or because the crust is cracker thin, or because you really love the sausage.

When I lived in New Mexico my freshman year of college, the people there thought that Little Caesar’s was great pizza.   News flash-it isn’t.  Plus, they eat it dipped in ranch dressing, why would you do that?  If you do that in Chicago and your over the age of 8, they’d run you out of town.

It’s like putting ketchup on a hot dog.  It isn’t done. 

My husband has ordered pizza in St. Louis and it was served with breakfast sausage on it.  Ugh,  like I said we take it for granted that everyone has great pizza.

Chains in Chicago are around, but you don’t go to them if you want really good pizza.  I know people love Pizza Hut, and Domino’s, and California Pizza Kitchen.  But those places don’t serve pizza.

Chicago may be known for deep dish, but I’m not really a fan.  I love my pizza cracker thin.  My husband does love deep dish, but only one kind.  Lou Malnati’s and I must admit it is a great deep dish.  It’s the buttery crust and the fact that there isn’t too much cheese in it.  Deep dish usually has way too much cheese and that takes away from everything else.

Which brings me back to this spinach bread. We had lunch at Lou Malnati’s.   Their crust is buttery.  There’s just the right amount of cheese.  Oh, and it’s loaded with spinach.

This bread was so good and I knew that I could make a reasonable one at home.

I did.  This bread is awesome.

I used the dinner roll recipe but used butter instead of oil in the dough.

Spinach Bread

  • Bread Dough
  • 2 bunches of Spinach, cleaned and chopped (10-12 C)
  • 1 bunch Green Onion, diced
  • 5 Cloves Garlic, minced
  • 1/4 C Fresh Parsley, chopped
  • 1/2 C Fresh Basil, chopped
  • 2 T Butter
  • 2 C Mozzarella, grated
  • 1/2 C Parmesan, grated
  • 1/2 C Provolone, grated
  • 2 Tomatoes, diced and seeded

Prepare the bread. 

In a saute pan, heat the butter.  Add the onion and garlic, saute until tender.  Add the parsley, basil and spinach to the pan.  Saute until the spinach has cooked through.  Add the spinach mixture to a large bowl and allow to cool.  Once cool, add the cheeses and tomatoes.  Stir and add pepper and salt to taste.

Divide your bread dough in half.  Line two bread pans with olive oil.  Roll out one of the doughs so that when placed in the pan you have enough dough overlapping the sides of the pan.  Place the dough in the bread pan and scoop half of the spinach mixture into the pan using a serrated spoon.  Pinch the dough to seal completely and then carefully lift the bread out of the pan.  Flip the bread so that the seam is at the bottom of the pan.  Repeat with the remaining dough and filling.

Let the bread rest for 30 minutes covered with a damp cloth.

Cook in 400 degree oven for 20 minutes or until golden brown. 

I served it with a salad and marinara sauce just like at the restaurant.

This makes two loaves of bread.

2 comments

  1. OMG! This looks so yummy!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

