h1

Chocolate Whoopie Pies

October 13, 2010

I mentioned that I made these whoopie pies.

I made pumpkin ones and these.

I’m on a roll.

Full disclosure, I had never had a whoopie pie before I had made these.  I’d heard of them, but it was never something that I had growing up.

Now that I’ve made them, I feel a little cheated.

These things totally rock.

I love both versions. 

I would love to see more variations of these puppies.

Chocolate Whoopie Pies

  • 2 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 C cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1 t salt
  • 1 C Half and Half
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 C  butter, softened
  • 1 C packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • Filling:
  • 1/2 C marshmallow fluff
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 T flour
  • 2 T milk
  • 1 3/4  C confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 C vegetable shortening

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt in a bowl until combined. Stir together half and half and vanilla in a small bowl.

Beat together butter and brown sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer at medium-high speed until pale and fluffy, about 3 minutes in a standing mixer or 5 minutes with a handheld, then add egg, beating until combined well. Reduce speed to low and alternately mix in flour mixture and half and half in batches, beginning and ending with flour, scraping down side of bowl occasionally, and mixing until smooth.

Spoon mounds of batter about 2 inches apart onto 2 buttered large baking sheets. I used a medium sized cookie scoop.  Bake until tops are puffed and cakes spring back when touched, 11 to 13 minutes. Transfer with a metal spatula to a rack to cool completely.

For the filling, combine all ingredients and beat very hard for several minutes at high speed.

To make the whoopie pies, spread a generous amount of filling on a completely cooled cookie. Top with another cookie. Wrap each pie individually in plastic wrap.

This made a dozen pies and I love that I was able to use of the leftover fluff from Meeshie’s make your own sandwich party.

Here is the original.  G’ma’s Bakery again!

One comment

  1. […] Instead I stayed home and made soup.  Not that Meeshie had any, but still.  I also made some whoopie pies.  I love making them because they are so simple and easy to store.  Perfect for a fourth […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

