h1

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

October 12, 2010

Since I took down most of my garden, I made these pumpkin whoopie pies over the weekend. 

I also made more whoopie pies too.  I’ll be posting them tomorrow.

These are so good.

I’m seriously thinking that I may add nuts to the top of them next time.  They taste like the pumpkin roll that I make every Thanksgiving.

I’ll be posting about that soon enough too.

They are so easy to make.  I wrapped each one up.  Just grab and go.

Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

  • FOR THE CAKES:
  • 1-⅔ C Flour
  • 1 t Baking Powder
  • 1 t  Baking Soda
  • ¾ t Salt
  • 1 T Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1 t Ground Ginger
  • 1/4 C Unsalted Butter, melted
  • ¾ C Packed Light Brown Sugar
  • 2 whole Large Eggs, Room Temperature, Lightly Beaten
  • 1 C Canned Pure Pumpkin Puree
  • 1 t Pure Vanilla Extract
  • FOR THE FROSTING:
  • 1 stick Butter, Softened
  • 8 ounces, weight Softened Cream Cheese
  • 2 C Confectioner’s Sugar
  • ¾ t Salt
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 t Nutmeg
  •  Preheat the oven to 350F°. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.

    In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and spices. In a large bowl, whisk together the melted butter and brown sugar until smooth. With mixer on medium speed, beat in the eggs, pumpkin puree,and vanilla extract. Fold in the flour mixture.

    Using a medium sized cookie scoop, drop 12 large mounds of batter onto each baking sheet spaced about 2 inches apart.  Using the back of your scoop, gently press down on each scoop to flatten the shape a little. Bake about 10 minutes. They will be springy to touch. Transfer to a rack to cool completely.

    Frosting:
    Beat the softened butter with the cream cheese. Add the confectioners’ sugar, salt ,vanilla and nutmeg and mix on low speed until blended. Beat for about 2 minutes on medium high speed until nice and fluffy.

    Spread the flat side of 12 cakes with the cream cheese frosting. Top each with another cake.

    This makes a dozen pies.

    Wrap them up and stick them in the freezer.

    Like I mentioned, I think I’ll be adding nuts to the top next time I make them, but here is the original recipe.

    Love this site.

    2 comments

    1. […] it’s also the time of the year when I obsess over pumpkin: pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffin donuts are just a few of the things I love to make.  I […]


    2. […] Pumpkin Whoopie Pies […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

