h1

Italian Meatballs

October 11, 2010

I got this great recipe from my girlfriend who in turn got it from her MIL.  Her in-laws owned a restaurant at one time.  These are some serious meatballs.  So easy.  So versatile.  They pack a ton of flavor too.

I actually double this recipe, freeze them and then take out what I need when the mood strikes.

Meeshie loves them with pasta. 

Not me.  I love these on a sandwich.  A meatball sandwich, with provolone on a toasted bun.  Heavenly.

When I make these, my husband and Meeshie just pluck them off the plate while they drain. 

 Italian Meatballs

  • 1-½ pound Ground Chuck
  • 1-½ pound Ground Pork
  • 1 C Seasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 3 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 1 t Salt
  • 2 t Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 2 C Grated Imported Romano Or Parmigiano Cheese
  • 1 T Garlic Powder
  • 1 bunch Fresh Parsley, Chopped
  • 5 cloves Fresh Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole Onion, Chopped
  • 3 T Butter
  • Oil, For Frying
  • Sauté the fresh garlic and onion in the butter until onion is tender. Add the chopped parsley and sauté for a minute. Turn off the heat and set aside.

    In a large bowl, combine the ground chuck, pork, bread crumbs, eggs, salt, pepper, cheese, and garlic powder. Add the sautéed onion mixture and mix everything together by hand.

    In a deep skillet, heat about 3 inches of oil. (I actually use my deep fryer for this part. That way I can fry about a dozen meatballs at once.) I use a medium-sized cookie scoop so that the balls are uniform. If you prefer to make them larger, go for it but I find that the medium size is perfect for sandwiches.  Scoop the mixture into the hot oil frying for about 3-4 minutes a side. The meatballs will be a nice dark golden brown color. Let them drain on a paper towel.

    Place them in your favorite marinara on a low heat.  The longer you let them cook the  more tender they’ll be.

    Once they drain and cool, I place them on a cookie sheet to freeze.  I put them in the freezer for about a half an hour or so and then put them in bags.  This way they wont stick together when you’re ready to heat them up.

     I’ve served them when we’ve had people over for the superbowl.  But you don’t have to wait to have friends over to eat these.

    One comment

    1. […] served these with meatballs, sauce and mostaccioli.  You can serve these with whatever you […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

