h1

Dinner Rolls

September 26, 2010

When I was a girl, my mother made the best raisin bread.  I loved helping her make it, especially because I could eat some of the dough.  I loved the dough until I saw that episode of Emergency where a man had so much unrizen dough that his stomach started to rise.  I finally got that recipe from my mom in the summer and I’m planning to make it as soon as I find cake yeast or feel comfortable with the dry yeast/cake yeast conversion.

My mother stopped making the bread once we replaced our oven.  We used to have a pink, yes pink, wall mounted oven.  The house was built in the early 60’s and I guess the builder was anticipating how hot light pink was going to be.  Too bad avocado green and yellow became popular instead.  Even in the 70’s I knew the pink wasn’t so cool.  Especially with the fake red brick in the kitchen.

Any way, the oven was replaced in the 80’s with a drop in.  We lost a ton of cabinet space along with a pilot light.  Ovens these days don’t have them.  That makes it difficult to work with yeast.  Except that the oven I have in the basement is so basic -no window, no internal light and a pilot light.  It’s my best friend while I work with yeast.  It’s also my best friend in the summer on hot days and I want to bake.

These dinner rolls are so easy to make.  I mean really easy.  They rise very quickly due to the amount of yeast that is used.

Mine may not be pretty, but they taste wonderful.  Oh, and they freeze well after baking.

Dinner Rolls

  • 1 1/2 C warm water (110 degrees F)
  • 1 package (1/4 oz) active dry yeast
  • 2 T Sugar
  • 2 T Vegetable Oil
  • 1 t Salt
  • 4 C Flour, All-Purpose or Bread

In a large bowl, stir the warm water, yeast and sugar together.  Set aside for about 10 minutes, the mixture will become creamy.

To the yeast mixture, add the oil, salt and 2 C of the flour.  Stir.  Stir in the remaining flour, 1/2 C at a time, until the dough has pulled away from the sides of the bowl  Turn out the dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic, about 8 minutes.  Lightly oil a large bowl, place the dough in the bowl, turn to coat.  Cover with a damp cloth and let rise in a warm place until doubled in volume, about 1 hour.

Deflate the dough and turn it out onto a lightly floured surface.  Divide the dough into 12-14 equal pieces and form into round balls.  Place a slightly greased baking sheet at least 2 inches apart.  Cover the rolls with a damp cloth or greased saran wrap and let rise until doubled in volume, about 40 minutes. 

Bake for 12-13 minutes in a preheated 400 degree oven, or until golden brown.

Makes about a dozen rolls.

One comment

  1. […] used the dinner roll recipe but used butter instead of oil in the […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

