h1

Cinnamon Cider

September 24, 2010

Meeshie and my husband just left for a nature walk with the Girl Scouts.

The walk will be from 8-9 pm and there will be ‘smores.  I sent them off with this awesome cinnamon cider to keep them warm. 

This is one of my favorite drinks this time of year.  It’s great for a crowd plus it’s really simple to make.

Oh-yeah and you can spike it with Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum or Cinnamon Schnapps.  But it’s so good that you don’t have to if you don’t want to.

Cinnamon Cider

  • 1 gallon Apple Juice
  • 1 container of Caramel-the size really doesn’t matter just use the caramel you put on ice cream
  • 4-6 Cinnamon Sticks

Combine all three ingredients into a large pot.  Heat on low until warmed through making sure that you don’t bring the mixture to a boil.  Before serving you can remove the cinnamon sticks, but I usually keep them in.  You can then ladle it into cups or transport it into a pump thermos. 

Enjoy.

This is a wonderful companion to the pumpkin donut muffins!

9 comments

  1. I bought a pump Thermos this weekend! I’m making this for the competition we are going to this coming weekend.


    • Kathy-
      Good luck this weekend!
      Karen


  2. This looks good, I’m going to try this around the holidays.


    • Denise-
      By holidays I hope you mean to start with Halloween and then work your way through. You will not be sorry!
      Karen


  3. This was a hit tonight! My cinnamon sticks didn’t add much flavor, so I just sprinkled some cinnamon into it. The friends that went with us really enjoyed it! My kids love it!


    • Kathy-
      Glad you like it. Sorry that you didn’t have enough cinnamon flavor. I hope you try it again. Maybe add more sticks?
      Karen


      • It was really good, and I’m making it again today. I made just enough to fill the Thermos last night (a 2 qt. bottle of juice). I have the other 1/2 jar of caramel leftover and I don’t mind using ground cinnamon…it doesn’t take much. You should have seen the faces on the people around me when I poured this into the cups! Priceless! “That smells so good!” “Do you have an extra cup, I’ll pay you!” It was so funny!


      • Kathy-
        I love when a recipe is like that! All those great comments. I’m so glad that everyone enjoyed it.
        Karen


  4. […] I needed to stay home and make dinner.  I’m hoping to join in next time.  I made them some cinnamon cider to keep them warm.  Meeshie had a great time, thanks Maribeth and Carol for taking her.  Is it […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

