h1

Pumpkin Donut Muffins

September 21, 2010

I know I’ve mentioned this before but my husband loves donuts.

Me?  I’m okay with them. 

I saw a recipe for a baked pumpkin donut and thought why can’t I just make it in a muffin tin?  Then I thought why can’t I roll it in cinnamon sugar or better yet some more of the pumpkin spice?

As a rule I don’t buy donuts and I usually don’t make them.  My husband has no will power when it comes to a donut.  That’s not such a great thing with his diabetes.  And although he usually has issues with the blood sugar dipping, I don’t want to encourage high blood sugar either.  The key is to keep it from dipping in either direction.

But I love pumpkin.  This time of year I can’t get enough of it.  Pumpkin bread, pumpkin pie, pumpkin squares. 

And these sweet things.

Culver’s even has a great pumpkin mixer that we get every year after we go out to the pumpkin patch.

Pumpkin Donut Muffins

  • 2 1/2 C Flour
  • 3/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 2 t Baking Powder
  • 2 1/2 t Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 3/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 C Canned Pumpkin-A whole can
  • 3 Eggs
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • Spiced Sugar Coating
  • 3/4 C Butter, melted
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 1 T Cinnamon
  • 2 T Pumpkin Pie Spice

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, brown sugar, baking powder, pumpkin spice, salt and baking soda.

In a large bowl, combine the pumpkin, eggs, and butter.  Beat until smooth.  Add the flour mixture, beat until well combined.  Spoon the mixture into greased muffin tins close to the top.  Place in a preheated 350 degree oven and bake for 20-25 minutes (15-20 minutes if using the mini tin).  While baking, melt the butter and place in a bowl.  In another bowl combine the sugar and spices.  While the muffins are still slightly warm, dip them in the melted butter and then roll in the sugar mixture.

This recipe makes about 18 regular muffins.  I actually made some as mini-muffins and some regular. 

Enjoy this simple and yummy treat.

Here’s the inspiration for this awesome recipe.

8 comments

  1. […] This is a wonderful companion to the pumpkin donut muffins! […]


  2. I made these yesterday and they were a big hit! I changed only one thing: instead of dipping them in the butter, I melted 4 tablespoons butter and brushed them with the butter then I rolled them in the sugar mixture. I felt this would be healthier than dipping! The boys were only able to eat 2 each for breakfast so they are also filling! Yummy recipe!


    • Cathy-
      I think I’ll try the brushing of the butter next time. I’m glad the boys enjoyed them!
      Karen


  3. yeah my dad will like this


  4. […] the time of the year when I obsess over pumpkin: pumpkin whoopie pies, pumpkin pie, pumpkin roll, pumpkin muffin donuts are just a few of the things I love to make.  I saw this recipe for pumpkin cinnamon rolls and I […]


  5. […] Pumpkin Donut Muffins […]


  6. […] Meeshiesmom's Blog Welcome to my blog where I ramble about being a mom, making food and other observations « Savory Scones Gingerbread Donuts November 21, 2011 I came across a donut recipe last week that I knew I would make this week.  I made them this morning.  There’s nothing like fresh donuts in the morning.  The orignal recipe calls for a donut pan, but I used my mini muffin tin just like the pumpkin donut muffins. […]


  7. […] made my share of pumpkin treats, but this next one is in my top five.  I made this along with the pumpkin donut muffins last weekend.  Oh, the aroma of pumpkin wafting through my […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

