h1

Chicken and Dumplings

September 14, 2010

I saw a Triple D show a few weeks ago where they made chicken and dumplings.  It looked so good, but it was still so hot here.

I told my husband that as soon as the weather was cooler, I would make some.  I had some leftover chicken in the freezer from when we made beer can chicken.  I had planned to make chicken pot pie with it.  We love chicken pot pie.

But I had chicken and dumplings on my mind and I couldn’t shake it.  You know what I mean.  You see something and then you have a taste for it and nothing will appease that craving until you’ve had it.  That’s how I was with the chicken and dumplings.  There’s a reason why they call it comfort food.

I was a little nervous though, Meeshie doesn’t do soup.  And although I don’t think that chicken and dumplings is soup, I’m not eight. 

She ate it and enjoyed it.  That made me happy.  It wouldn’t stop me from making it but I hate the stress of forcing her to eat something. 

I may make a lot of things for dinner, but I’m not a restaurant.  I make it and she has to eat it.  So if I make something that my husband and I love and she just tolerates we can have some tension. 

Chicken and Dumplings

  • 2 C Flour
  • 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Kosher Salt
  • 4 T Butter, divided
  • 1 C Half and Half (or milk)
  • 1/2 Onion, diced
  • 3 Celery stalks, diced
  • 3 Carrots, diced
  • 3 Quarts Chicken Broth
  • 3 C Cooked Chicken
  • 1/2 C Peas (optional)

In a large pot, melt 2 T butter and add diced onion, celery and carrots.  While the vegetables are sauteing prepare the dumplings.  In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Cut in 2 T butter into the dry ingredients with a pastry cutter.  Slowly stir in the half and half (or milk).  Mix by hand until the dough forms a sticky ball.  You may not use all of the half and half (or milk).  Heavily flour your work surface and rolling-pin.  Roll out the dough to about 1/8- 1/4 inch thick.  I like mine thinner, but you don’t have to go too thin.  The thinner they are the harder it is to get them off your work surface.  Using a sharp knife, cut the dumplings into squares, about 2×2 inches.  They don’t have to be exact.  Place them on a floured plate and continue to flour them between layers.

Add the broth to the pot with the vegetables.  Bring the pot to a boil.  Drop the dumplings into the pot one at a time.  Make sure to stir as you add them.  Once all the dumplings are in the pot you can add the flour from the plate.  The flour thickens the broth, so if you don’t want the broth too thick you don’t have to add the remaining flour.  We like our broth thick, so we add it.  Cook the dumplings for about 15-20 minutes or until they no longer taste doughy.  Add the cooked chicken and the peas and simmer for another 10 minutes. 

Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy an awesome comfort food. 

This makes about 8-10 servings.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

