h1

Salted Caramel Chocolate Squares

September 12, 2010

These should actually be called salted caramel chocolate heaven.

These are so heavenly.

Salty and sweet.  Right up my alley.  Remember this post?

And so easy.  I had almost all the ingredients on hand except for the caramel.  This time of year I do like to have caramel on hand to make various treats.

I really love caramel.  If given a choice between caramel and chocolate, I would hands down pick caramel.  No question. 

Look at how this looks.  Really, the salt on top of the caramel and the top are a great touch.

So so good.

Seriously.

Salted Caramel Chocolate Squares

  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 1 1/2 C Quick Cooking Oats
  • 1 1/4 C Brown Sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 C Butter, melted
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 19 oz (1 jar) Caramel topping
  • 6 T Flour
  • 1 1/4 C Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • Coarse Kosher Salt or Sea Salt

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease a 9×13 glass baking dish with cooking spray. 

Combine the flour, oats, sugar, butter, cinnamon and baking soda in a large mixing bowl.  Press half of the mixture into the baking dish and bake for 10 minutes.

Pour the caramel topping into a medium-sized bowl and stir in the flour.

Pull the baking dish from the oven, sprinkle the chocolate chips over the warm crust.  Pour the caramel topping mixture on top of the chocolate chips, spreading as necessary.  Sprinkle the coarse salt over the caramel mixture.  Crumble the rest of the crust mixture over the caramel topping and sprinkle with additional salt.  Bake for another 20 minutes.

Remove from the oven and sprinkle an additional pinch of salt on top of the crust. 

Cool completely and cut into squares.

Here’s the original recipe.  Aren’t her helpers beautiful?  I too mixed this by hand.  Another reason to love this recipe.  Less clean up!

7 comments

  1. I bought a jar of caramel today to make these for lunchbox treats this week. I couldn’t find a 19 oz. jar…17 oz. is going to have to do.


  2. Mine just came out of the oven, and I can’t wait for them to cool…they smell soooo good! Thanks for posting this recipe Karen.


    • Kathy-
      I’m so glad that you made them. I love making bars/squares expecially for lunches. The salty and the sweet make me so happy!
      Karen


      • Oh my goodness….they are delicious!


  3. gonna send this to my mom


  4. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/


  5. […] Salted Caramel Chocolate Bars […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

