h1

Mushroom Soup

September 9, 2010

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s fairly cool here. 

Fall like.

Usually when the temperature dips I make chili and then we are back to more seasonal weather.  I always make chili in September on day that is 85 or warmer.  It’s a standing joke between my husband and I.

This year I didn’t make chili, I made this wonderful soup instead.

It’s filled with tons of mushrooms and flavor.

Sometimes my husband eats it with croutons on it.  I usually serve it with some crusty bread. 

That’s it, nothing else.  We really like soup, my husband and I, and eat it as a meal.

Mushroom Soup

  • 3 T Olive Oil
  • 2 whole Small carrot, Finely Minced
  • 2 whole Celery Stalk, Finely Minced
  • 2 clove Garlic, Crushed And Minced
  • 2 pound White Mushrooms, Sliced Thin
  • 1 C Chablis White Wine (or any white wine you have on hand)
  • 1 C Tomato Juice
  • 1 C Chicken Broth
  • 2 pint Half and Half
  • 2 C Parmesan Cheese, Freshly Grated
  • 2 t Cornstarch
  • ¼ C Water
  • pinch Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • Heat oil, over medium heat, in a large deep pot.

    Mince the carrot and celery nice and fine. Toss into the pot and allow them to soften while you slice the mushrooms.  Next, add your garlic, right as the carrots and celery start to cook down.

    Add the mushrooms to the pot and allow them to reduce and soften. Pour in the Chablis, and let it cook with the mushrooms for a few minutes.

    Add the tomato juice, and the chicken broth. Allow it to boil for about 5 minutes before adding the half and half, and bring to a soft boil.

    Grate Parmesan and add it to the pot. Let this cook for a few minutes, until the cheese is melted and blended with the soup. Add the cornstarch to 1/4 cup of water, then pour into the soup.

    Lower the heat and let the soup simmer for about 10 minutes or so, until thickened. Salt and pepper the soup to your own tastes.

    This recipe makes 8 servings.

    Here’s the original recipe.

    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

