h1

Sweet and Sour Chicken

September 2, 2010

I found this recipe.  

Or more to the point it found me.  It wasn’t like was searching for a recipe for sweet and sour chicken.  But there it was.

I was intrigued because Meeshie loves sweet and sour chicken.  I had planned to make it over the weekend and then one thing led to another and it didn’t happen. 

But since I had the chicken defrosted, I decided to start the process and let the chicken sit overnight.  As a rule I try to get dinner on the table during the week in about a half an hour tops.   That means start to finish.  Like everyone, we are pressed for time during the week and I just don’t want to waste that time waiting for dinner to be ready. 

The exception to that is in the winter.  I have a timer on the oven and can plan a meal that may need a long while to cook by putting it in the oven and making sure it’s done around the time we plan to eat.  In the summer I use the oven in the basement that doesn’t have that feature.  I’m not complaining.  I love that I have the two ovens and the versatility to use each one either separately or simultaneously.

But this time my husband was getting home a little later than usual. 

I figured if I started the process the night before I could eliminate some of the time that is eaten up by the prep.  So I prepped the chicken, made the sauce and tossed that into the dish overnight.  Then when I got home I quickly made another batch of the sauce, Meeshie and my husband love lots of sauce, and stuck it in the oven.

I made some fried rice from Trader Joe’s. 

It was heavenly.  Truly. 

I have in the past bought the orange chicken from Costco and I can honestly say that will not be happening again.  Not that this is orange chicken.  It isn’t.  It’s sweet and sour chicken, but you get the drift, right? 

This chicken totally rocks.

Sweet and Sour Chicken

  • 3 whole Boneless, Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • Salt And Pepper
  • 1 C Cornstarch
  • 2 whole Eggs, Lightly Beaten
  • ¼ C Canola Oil
  • FOR THE SAUCE:
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 4 T Ketchup
  • ½ C Vinegar
  • 1 T Soy Sauce
  • 1 t Garlic Powder
  • Green Pepper, diced
  • Pineapple, diced
  • Cut chicken breasts into chunks. Season with salt and pepper. Dip chicken in cornstarch and then in egg. Fry in a little oil until browned on all sides but not cooked through. Place in a single layer in a baking dish. 

    Mix sauce ingredients together and pour over chicken.  (I then put this in the fridge overnight and then before putting it in the oven, made another batch of sauce to place in the baking dish, along with the green pepper and pineapple.)

    Bake for 45 minutes at 325 degrees F. Turn chicken every 15 minutes.

    Serve with your favorite rice.  I’ve been making it with the fried rice.

    Here’s the original recipe.  Mel’s Kitchen Cafe blog is awesome.  She really has some great recipes on her site.

    One comment

    1. […] And let me tell you Meeshie is a big fan of orange chicken.  She’s also a big fan of sweet and sour chicken. This dish uses the same technique as the sweet and sour chicken:  the egg wash/corn starch dip […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

