h1

Puppy Chow

August 29, 2010

 

Meeshie asked me a few weeks ago if I would make her some Puppy Chow.

I’ll be honest, I’m not a big fan of it.  I think it’s the name.  I can’t get past it.

So when she asked about it a few weeks ago, I told that we didn’t have the ingredients.  Case closed, or so I thought.

Yesterday was Saturday and that’s the day I grocery shop.  Meeshie came with and the first thing she said to me is can I make the Puppy Chow?

I don’t know what the ingredients are.

I have the recipe right here.

And she did.  Right there, in the book she was carrying.

I need crispy rice cereal squares, peanut butter, semi-sweet chocolate chips and confectioners’ sugar.

All righty.  I can’t argue with that.

So Meeshie made this treat.  All by herself.  I just stood there in case I was needed for something.

I think it’s the best thing I’ve ever eaten.

If I can just get past the name.

Puppy Chow

  • 9 C Crispy Rice Cereal Squares
  • 1/2 C Peanut Butter
  • 1 C Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 1/2 C Confectioners’ Sugar

In an extra large bowl with a lid, measure out the cereal.  Set aside.

In a saucepan, over low heat, melt the chocolate and peanut butter and mix until smooth.  Spoon chocolate mixture onto the cereal.  Stir until coated.  Add the powdered sugar to the bowl, cover with the lid and shake until well coated.

Note: Meeshie used the extra-large Tupperware container, but you can also use an extra-large Ziploc bag to coat the cereal.

5 comments

  1. Love, love, love puppy chow at this house. Believe it or not, I even bought a cheap dog dish from the dollar store to serve it in! Yeah, I’m a little crazy like that. =)


    • Kathy-
      The visual on the dog dish is too funny! I’m going to keep that my secret, though. I think Meeshie would insist on eating it out of one Vader’s old bowls and that is just wrong.


  2. Yummmmmm!!! Love Puppy Chow!


  3. […] that a certain movie with a loveable alien changed my life, but maybe it did.  This snack is like puppy chow on steroids.  It’s just as simple and just as addicting.  I would suggest using either […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

