h1

Vanilla Nut Bars

August 26, 2010

I love pecan squares.  Especially Corner Bakery’s maple pecan squares.  If you’ve ever had  Corner Bakery’s maple pecan squares, you know how good they are.  The crust is buttery.  The pecans are the right amount of crunchy.

I came across this recipe and thought of those pecan squares.  The crust is dead on.  I actually like these bars better because of the mixture of the nuts.

Vanilla Nut Bars

  • Crust:
  • 2 1/2 sticks Butter, softened
  • 6 T sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 1/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 t baking powder
  • Pinch of Fine sea salt
  • Filling:
  • 1 C  Butter
  • 1/2 C Honey
  • 1 1/2 C light brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 t vanilla
  • 2 T Half and Half
  • 1 C Almonds, chopped
  • 1 C Pecans, chopped

Preheat oven to 350 F. Make the crust by combining the softened butter and sugar in the bowl of a stand mixer. Use the paddle attachment and mix for 3 minutes. Add the eggs and vanilla and mix well. Sift the dry ingredients together and add to the butter/sugar mixture on low speed just until all the ingredients are completely incorporated. Using well floured hands (I actually used a rubber spatula and therefore did not flour my hands), press dough into ungreased 9×13 metal cake pan. Bake crust for 15 minutes. Cool. While the crust is cooling, make the filling.

Combine the butter, honey, and brown sugar in a heavy-bottomed saucepan. Heat, stirring constantly until mixture boils; continue to boil for 3 minutes. Remove from heat and stir in the half and half, vanilla, and chopped nuts. Pour mixture over the crust and bake for 20-25 minutes. Cool until set. Cut and serve!

Note: I use half and half pretty much wherever milk/cream is listed.  We drink skim milk and skim milk doesn’t always work well in a recipe.  We buy a lot of half and half so it’s easy to substitute in recipes.   I also plan to drizzle some chocolate on them the next time I bake them!

The original recipe is right here.  Butter Yum’s website is really cool.  I love her pictures.

4 comments

  1. Hi Meeshie’s Mom – I’m so glad you liked these Vanilla Nut Bars. Thanks for posting a link to my blog. Hope you have a great weekend!

    🙂
    ButterYum


    • Butter Yum-LOVED them. I’ve shared them with a few friends and they did too! Can’t wait to see what other yumnmy things you have to share.


  2. They are in the oven now!! I can’t wait to try them… To be honest, I still have half of a corner bakery maple pecan bar in a to-go box, but it is so amazing, I didn’t want to share it with anyone, so guilt drove me to the internet. But I’ll get to do a real comparison in a little while! I can’t wait, and if the smell means anything, I think they are going to be great! (they just came out, and by the looks of things, crust to gooey/maple ratio might be a little disappointing…I might increase the filling by some next time) :). Thanks for posting, ladies!!


    • Julie-
      Oh, I’m so glad you made them and enjoyed them! They are one of our favorites. BTW, if you have leftover, they freeze well.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

