h1

Sour Cream Coffee Loaf with Maple Glaze and Bacon

August 22, 2010

I saw this during the week and couldn’t wait to make it.

The original recipe doesn’t call for bacon, but I thought of bacon as soon as I saw the maple.  My husband loves bacon.  Meeshie loves to call him the baconator. 

He’s asked me to make bacon maple donuts every time he sees them on the Food Network.  I haven’t made the donuts yet.  I’m not really planning on it either.  He has great will power when it comes to the sweets that I bake, but not when it comes to donuts.  He loves donuts.  That would not be a good thing for his sugar.  At all. 

Now this cake is one of the moistest ones I’ve ever made.  It actually reminds me more of a bread, probably because you bake it in a loaf pan.  Regardless, it’s pretty easy to assemble and not overly sweet.

Sour Cream Coffee Loaf with Maple Glaze and Bacon

  • ¾ cup Granulated Sugar
  • 6 Tablespoons Butter, Softened
  • 1 whole Egg
  • ¾ teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-½ cups Flour
  • ¾ teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ¾ teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ¼ teaspoon Kosher Salt
  • 1 1/4 cups Sour Cream
  • ⅓ cup Brown Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • 3 pieces of bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • _____
  • FOR THE GLAZE:
  • 1/2 cup Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1 cup Powdered Sugar
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease a 9×5″ loaf pan. Cream the sugar and butter together in a medium bowl, and then beat in the egg and vanilla.

    Whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Beat into the butter mixture alternately with the sour cream just until combined.

    Whisk together the brown sugar and cinnamon in a small bowl. Spread a third of the batter into the loaf pan and sprinkle with 1/3 of the cinnamon-sugar mixture and some bacon. Repeat the layers 2 more times, ending with the top layer but reserve the remaining bacon for after the loaf has been baked.

    Bake 45-50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. While the cake is cooling in the pan, make the glaze. Stir the maple syrup into the powdered sugar gradually until the glaze is thick and smooth. (You can add additional maple syrup if the glaze is too thick.)

    Remove the cake from the pan and let cool on a rack. Drizzle with the glaze while still warm, and sprinkle with the remaining bacon.

    Here is the original recipe.  Check out Sugarcrafter’s site.   

    Note: in addition to the bacon, I added more sour cream and more syrup.  You don’t have to add the extra sour cream, but that little extra isn’t going to hurt anything.  Trust me.  Plus the glaze seemed way too thick until I added more syrup.

    4 comments

    1. I never would have thought to add bacon, but WOW! Yummy…that has to great! Your version looks delicious. I might have to make this for my first day back at work.


      • Kathy-
        The bacon is great. Feel free to add more if want.


    2. Great variation with the addition of bacon! So glad you enjoyed the coffee cake. 🙂


      • Tracy-
        Loved it! Thanks so much for sharing this great recipe!



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!