h1

The Best Yellow Cake Ever

August 15, 2010

I made this cake for Meeshie’s birthday.  Remember the piano cake?

This is the best yellow cake that I’ve ever had.  I’ve been through a number of yellow cake recipes throughout the years.  Some have left a funky taste in your mouth.  Some have been like sawdust.  If you’ve ever made scratch yellow cake, you know exactly what I mean.  It’s always frustrated me that Betty Crocker made a better yellow cake than me. 

Until this recipe.

It’s moist.  Oh yeah super moist without cheating.  Have you ever made a yellow cake and then poked holes in it to “add” moisture?  That’s just wrong in my book and you don’t have to do that here.

It’s tasty.  The flavor is so good.  No funky after taste in your mouth.  No funky coating on your tongue.

This is the best yellow cake ever.

Yellow Cake

  • 2 1/4 C All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 1/2 C Sugar
  • 3 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1 t  Salt
  • 1 1/4 C Milk
  • Vegetable Oil
  • 1/2 C Butter, softened
  • 1 T Vanilla
  • 3 Large Eggs

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large mixing bowl combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.  Mix well.

Measure the milk in a 2 cup measuring cup then add enough vegetable oil to bring the liquid up to 1 1/3 C.

Beat the butter and vanilla and add the milk mixture.  Add the butter/milk mixture to the dry ingredients and beat for 2 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl as needed

Add the eggs, one at a time and continue to beat for an additional 2 minutes.  Pour batter into prepared pan.  Note: I used Baker’s Joy, but you could use Pam or butter/flour the pan.  Of course if you use flour, just use a pinch or two of the flour you have already measured out.

Bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean.

This recipe will also fill 3 9 x 1 1/2 inch round pans.

Here is the filling recipe that I used.  Trust me when I say that as good as the filling is, and it totally rocks, the cake stands great alone.  

If you love strawberries, you will love this recipe for the mouse filling.  It can actually be eaten alone it’s that good.  I do love a good mouse.

Strawberry Mouse Filling

  • 2 C strawberries
  • 2 T fresh lemon juice, divided
  • 8 oz white chocolate, finely chopped and melted
  • 1 1/4 t unflavored gelatin powder
  • 2 C heavy cream
  • 2 T powdered sugar

Put all the strawberries with 1 T of lemon juice in a blender and mix until pureed.  Put 1/4 C cool water into a small bowl and sprinkle the gelatin over the water.  Let stand for 5 minutes.  Stir 1/4 C cream and 2 T powdered sugar in a small saucepan and bring to a simmer.  Add the gelatin mixture and stir until the gelatin dissolves.  Pour this mixture into the bowl of melted chocolate and stir until smooth.  Whisk in 3/4 C of the strawberry puree.  Reserve the remaining 1/4 C of puree.  Using an electric mixer, whip the remaining 1 3/4 C cream, beat until medium peaks form.  Whisk 1/3 of the cream into the chocolate mixture.  Using a rubber spatula, gently fold the remaining whipped cream into the mixture.  Refrigerate for 1 hour.  Stir the remaining 1 T of lemon juice into the reserved berries.  Fold the berries into the mouse and chill for 4-6 hours.

8 comments

  1. Karen,
    When you say pour into prepared pan…is it a 9×13, greased and floured, or just sprayed with Pam?


    • Kathy- I used Baker’s Joy, but I think either method you suggest would work too.


  2. How do you make all of these lucious desserts with a diabetic husband? Do you make something different for him to enjoy to eat?
    My dad is a diabetic and he would be going crazy in your household. My mom cooks a lot with splenda.
    Just curious, maybe he doesn’t even like sweets.
    This looked wonderful!
    I have a tortelini appetizer recipe I have to share with you. I will get the exact measurements and email it to you.


    • Denise-
      Two things. First, my husband has been diabetic since he was 10. So he’s lived with it all of his life and knows what he can and can’t have. Second, he doesn’t go crazy with the sweets I make. Most of the time I freeze what I make and sometimes I bring it to work.


  3. Well that makes sense now. I was wondering how he could be around all these delicious desserts! I know my dad has been a diabetic most of his life he was diagnosed young too. But he just doesn’t have will power. I think it’s the Italian in him… He LOVES Food!! He will be eating lunch and talking about what he will make for dinner. My husband call him the food man.


  4. How much salt? I made the cake last nite and used 1 tsp of salt. The cake is very lite! The mousse is wonderful. I could eat just that, but I would need to get the next clothes size up if I do!


    • Carol-
      It is a teaspoon of salt. Thanks! I’ve updated the recipe. I’m glad you enjoyed the cake!


  5. […] about a great yellow cake recipe?  Everyone should have one.  This is absolutely the best yellow cake recipe I’ve ever […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

