h1

Oven Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

August 10, 2010

We have an over abundance of tomatoes in our garden.  I’m not complaining.  No way.  I dream of this time of year in the middle of January. 

I dream of blts (without the l).  I dream of pasta sauce.  I dream of just a garden of tomatoes.

I’ve never dreamt of this recipe, now I just might.

This recipe is so good and simple.  I made this on Sunday and it didn’t last 24 hours in our house.  I’m not sure if I would categorize them as sun-dried tomatoes.  I say that because my husband is not a fan of the sun-dried tomatoes but he loved these.

I was so busy making chili, and blueberry zucchini bread that I actually burned some of the tomatoes and they still were awesome.  My Italian neighbor came over on Sunday night and I gave some to her to sample.  She loved them too.  She thought they would be great in pasta.  I’m sure you could put them on hamburgers.  Or toasted bread.  Or mixed with pesto.  Or on a sandwich-like a grilled cheese.  Or do what we did, just eat them right out of the container.

Just a small note, I would adjust the time to 2 1/2 -3 hours the next time I make them.  My one oven runs on the hot side and I think 2 1/2 hours would have been perfect.  I also added some fresh oregano and substituted shallot salt for the sea salt.  I got the shallot salt as a gift (Thank you Kathy!) and discovered this wonderful world of spices.

Oven Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

  • ¼ teaspoons Sea Salt
  • 1 clove Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Fresh Thyme (Leaves Only)
  • ½ teaspoons Chopped Fresh Chives
  • 1 teaspoon Chopped Fresh Basil
  • ¼ cups Olive Oil
  • 1 pound Cherry Or Grape Tomatoes
  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

    Line a jelly roll pan or cookie sheet with a Silpat or parchment paper.

    Using a mortar and pestle (I used a food processor), combine salt, garlic, and fresh herbs. Crush to a coarse paste.  Stir in the olive oil and set aside.

    Cut tomatoes in half and lay cut side up on the prepared pan. With a pastry brush, lightly brush the cut side of each tomato with the oil. Reserve the remaining oil.

    Bake for 3 hours.

    When cool, place in an airtight container and drizzle with the remaining olive oil. Store in the refrigerator.

    I found the recipe for this at TK.

    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

