h1

Mozzarella Sticks

August 5, 2010

 

I made these with dinner the other night.

The recipe for these caught my eye a few weeks ago because Meeshie loves mozzarella sticks so much.  As does my husband.  Me, I’m on the fence and since I don’t make things I don’t like, I try to make things that I don’t hate to keep everyone happy in my house.

The problem was that they were way too bland.  I mean no flavor at all bland.  It was a recipe that Pioneer Woman posted and I sometimes like her recipes.  This one not so much. Maybe because it was the kick off her Kikkomans sponsorship?  I’m not sure.

And like I stated, since they like mozzarella sticks so much, I decided to make them again.  This time I fiddled with it some and came up with this recipe.  It was really good and really easy. 

Mozzarella Sticks

  • 16 pieces String Cheese, Removed From Wrappers
  • 1/4  C Flour
  • 1 Egg
  • 3 T Milk
  • 1 1/2 C Panko Bread Crumbs
  • 1 T Dried Parsley Flakes
  • 1 T Granulate Garlic
  • 1 t Truffle Salt
  • Canola Oil, For Frying
  • Marinara Sauce, For Dipping

Slice string cheese pieces in half, for a total of 32 pieces.  Place flour and truffle salt on a small plate.  In a separate bowl, whisk eggs and milk.  On another plate, combine panko bread crumbs with parsley flakes and garlic.

One by one, roll mozzarella sticks in flour, then dunk in egg/milk mixture, then place in panko crumbs. Use your hand to sweep crumbs all over the mozzarella stick. Gently remove and place on a tray or cookie sheet. Repeat until all mozzarella sticks are coated.

Place tray in freezer for 20 to 30 minutes to flash freeze.  This will ensure that your cheese wont bubble out all over the pan.

Heat 1 1/2 inches canola oil in a large skillet over medium heat. When hot, add mozzarella sticks 6 at a time. Leave the rest of the sticks in the freezer while each batch fries.  Watch closely and turn over to evenly brown, cooking less than 1 minute. Do not allow cheese to bubble and leak.

Remove to a paper towel-lined plate.  Serve immediately with warm marinara sauce.

Note: Since I made this as a side dish with dinner I did not serve this with any sauce. 

The salt really brought out the flavor of the cheese, which I think is what you want when eating a mozzarella stick, don’t you?

If you would like to see the original recipe, here it is.  And I’m sure there are a million pictures to show you how to dip the sticks, if you are so inclined.

5 comments

  1. I’m glad you love the truffle salt 🙂


    • Maybe I should have a truffle salt section on my recipe page!


  2. I made these a few weeks ago too. I thought the same thing…a bit bland. The kids…they thought they were awesome! I’d make them again, but I’d have to jazz them up. I like that you can make them ahead of time and keep them in the freezer.


    • So did Meeshie until I remade them. Now she really loves them. I like your idea of keeping them in the freezer until I’m ready to fry them. Thanks!


  3. […] Mozzarella Sticks […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

