h1

Peach Bread

July 29, 2010

 

I made this bread the other day.  My sweet neighbor has a peach tree growing in her backyard and brought me some peaches.  This is the same sweet neighbor that looks after Vader when we go out of town and makes the best fried zucchini flowers.  Mind you the peaches were the size of apricots, but what do you expect for midwest?    They had great flavor and they were pretty juicy.  

I wanted to make something other than a pie with them.  I have a great recipe for a peach almond pie but my husband isn’t a big fan of peaches and he has to be in the mood for that one.  I thought that if I made muffins or bread with the peaches he would definitely eat that.  

This recipe is good, but let’s be honest peaches baked in a bread are not bursting with flavor.  And I think that the next time I make it I may omit the cloves.  I love cloves but I think that the bread may not need them.  I think I’ll also reduce the amount of cinnamon too.  

Peach Bread 

  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 2 cups Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Apricot Nectar
  • 1/4 cup Canola Oil
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 3 teaspoons Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ¼ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • ⅛ teaspoons Cloves
  • 3 cups Fresh Peaches, Peeled-pitted-diced
  • ½ cups Chopped Pecans
  • TOPPING:
  • ½ cups Flour
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cups Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ½ cups Pecans, Chopped
  • ½ cups Butter, Softened
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour 2 – 8 X 4 loaf pans.  Beat eggs lightly. Blend in sugar, nectar, oil, and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking powder, soda, salt, and spices.  Gradually stir the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients until just combined.  Gently fold in the peaches and nuts.  Pour into the pans. Make the crumb topping by combining the flour, sugars, cinnamon, pecans and butter together with your hands. Sprinkle over the top of the loaves.  Cook for 1 hour or until tester comes out clean. 

    I served this to my husband with some clotted cream and he couldn’t eat it fast enough!  Which reminds me I need to update my clotted cream recipe.  I’ve been tinkering with it and I’m thinking it’s even better than before.    But I’ve been known to be wrong once or twice.

    3 comments

    1. YUM! I always enjoy anything made with peaches. Thanks for the good advice on the spices. 🙂


    2. […] Peach Streusel Bread from Meeshie’s Mom […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

