h1

Tomato Pie

July 28, 2010

I made this the other night for dinner along with some garlic bread and zucchini.  I found the recipe for it here.  If you haven’t found the Tasty Kitchen community yet, you’re missing out.

When I told my husband we were going to have tomato pie for dinner, he was less than thrilled.  Until he ate it. 

This was so surprisingly tasty considering there isn’t that many ingredients.  Maybe the simplicity is what makes it so good.

Tomato Pie

  • 1 whole Store-Bought Pie Crust
  • 4 whole Tomatoes (peeled, Cored, Seeds Removed)
  • 8-10  leaves Fresh Basil
  • ⅓ cups Chopped Green Onion
  • 1 pinch Salt To Taste
  • 1 pinch Pepper To Taste
  • 1 cup Grated Part-skim Mozzarella Cheese
  • 1 cup Grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 cup Mayonnaise
  • Cook store-bought pie crust according to package directions and allow to cool.   Once the pie crust is out of the oven, set the temperature for the oven to 350 degrees.   Clean and slice your tomatoes and arrange the slices in the crust, overlapping them.  You must make sure to seed and peel the tomatoes otherwise you’ll have tomato soup not tomato pie.   Add basil and onion, then sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.   I did use truffle salt.   Mix cheeses and mayonnaise in bowl.  Spread over tomatoes.   Bake for 30 minutes, or until lightly brown.  Cool about 10 minutes before slicing.

    This is a great way to use up those garden tomatoes and that fresh basil growing like a weed in your garden!

    10 comments

    1. I’m going to try this. My tomatoes should be coming in soon.


    2. Just waiting for my tomatoes to turn red, and then I’m making this. I think my family will like this one! I have some fantastic looking heirloom tomatoes just begging to go into a good recipe!


    3. Kathy and Denise-
      Sorry to hear that your tomatoes are not quite ready. Mine have been ready for a little while now. I’m going to blame my compost! Hope you enjoy it once you make it!


    4. Hi Karen,

      The tomato pie looks delicious and hope to try it soon. I did make your pesto and it was out of this world! I normally would skip toasting the pine nuts but I took your advice and it paid off. Thanks for the recipe! I shared my batch with Carol L.


      • Lisa-
        I’m so glad you enjoyed the pesto! I hope you do enjoy the pie. I told Meeshie that it was cheese pie and she ate it right up!


    5. I’ve made this recipe over and over again….love it!


    6. Wow! I’m so glad you suggested this recipe…it’s awesome! So deliciously fresh, and so easy to put together. I can’t wait to make it again. I’m going to be sad when we are out of fresh summer tomatoes and I have to wait until next summer to make it again!


      • Kathy-
        I’m so glad. We love this recipe. At least you’ll be able to enjoy it for awhile.




    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

