h1

PuffCorn Caramel Corn

July 19, 2010

I made this awesome treat for Meeshie’s party.  I even gave it away as the party favor along with some silly bandz.  This stuff is addictive.  Since I discovered this recipe from my friend in Wisconsin, I’ve made it a lot.  I made it for 4th of July, because it was Wednesday, because it stopped raining, you get the picture.

It caught my eye because Meeshie loves puff corn.  You know that styrofoam type treat?  We can’t really understand what the appeal of that stuff is, but I buy it for her on occasion.  With this recipe I can see some of its appeal.  It also caught my eye because when I was a girl we used to make caramel popcorn.  This recipe is similar except you don’t have to pop any corn to make this treat.  It’s so simple and so yummy.

Puffcorn Caramel Corn

  • 1 Package (9 Ounces) Puffcorn
  • 1 cup Butter
  • 1-¼ cup Brown Sugar
  • ⅔ cups Light Corn Syrup
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

    Combine butter (don’t use margarine), brown sugar, and light corn syrup in a 2-quart sauce pan. Cook on medium heat until mixture has melted. Once mixture has melted, add the baking soda. (NOTE: This will cause the mixture to foam.)

    Pour the puffcorn into a large roaster pan. Pour the caramel mixture over the puffcorn and stir until mixed.

    Place in oven for 45 minutes, stirring at least every 10-15 minutes.

    Remove from oven, pour onto waxed paper and break apart. Let cool and then break into individual bites.

    You can store it in an air tight container.

    Enjoy and thanks again Kathy for hooking me up with this great treat!

    8 comments

    1. well, you won’t believe it but I actually cooked a side dish yesterday. Yep! True! We bought some green beans at the farmer’s market. I’m not a fan but if I have to eat them, I want them to taste good 😉 So I found this receipe that was so easy. Bacon, onions, garlic, worchester sauce and brown sugar. It was so good and I actually amazed myself!


      • Darn and I’m not there to bask in your glory! Way to go!


    2. You are more than welcome! It’s a good one, isn’t it? So yummy!


      • So good that I need to ration it to my hubby!


    3. Kathy is my sister in law and also my friend:) She is one of the best cooks I have EVER known…if I am looking for a good recipe…I call her.


      • Although Kathy isn’t my SIL, I couldn’t agree with you more. The recipes that I’ve gotten and shared with her are wonderful and I consider her my friend too!


    4. Finally made this yesterday. Every time I bought the puffed corn someone would eat it before I could make the recipe. The final product was delish (and very easy to prepare). Thanks!


      • Lynne-
        I’m so glad you finally made it! I’m thinking you won’t have trouble in the future with anyone eating the puffcorn right out of the bag now! I too just made this over the weekend.
        Karen



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

