h1

Oreo Cupcakes with Oreo Frosting

July 15, 2010

I made these cupcakes for Meeshie’s birthday party.

I wanted to make some cake pops that looked like microphones, but Meeshie vetoed that. It would have gone great with the karaoke theme, but it is her birthday after all.

I stumbled on this recipe for Oreo cupcakes thinking that I could make the frosting as a filing for the piano cake. I thought it would look so cool when the cake is cut to see the frosting used as a filling. Meeshie of course requested a strawberry filling so I decided to make the cupcakes to serve at the party in case the piano cake hits a sour note. Children love cupcakes.

I was even able to sample how I plan to pipe them because the intern in our office is leaving next week. I wanted to bring in a treat for her and since I’ll be enjoying some Memphis BBQ next week, I set to work.

I do plan to cut out the center of the cupcake, insert a chocolate cordial cup and fill it with milk for dunking the mini Oreo. I’ll just pipe around the cup and insert the Oreo in the frosting.

Let me tell you that I had major issues with the frosting.  First, I wanted to make sure the frosting was stiff so I added all the recommended powdered sugar. Next I decided I would use my spritz cookie press with the proper tip to help with the piping. The cookie press is electric and probably as old as I am. It was also acting up so I had to move on to plan B. I took a sandwich bag and cut out a hole and inserted the tip. The problem was that the sandwich bag was too flimsy for the stiff icing and the icing started to come out through the seems in the bag. It was a disaster.

Good thing they taste so good.  This cupcake is almost like a brownie in consistency.  It is very moist with chunks of Oreo floating about.  Yummy!

Oreo Cupcake

  • 3/4 C Butter, softened
  • 2 1/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 8 oz. Dark chocolate, melted
  • 3 large Eggs, separated
  • 2 t Vanilla
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1 t Baking Powder
  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 1 3/4 C Milk
  • 8 Oreo cookies, smashed

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

In a large bowl, beat the egg whites until peaks form, set aside.

In a separate bowl, beat the butter and the sugar until light and fluffy.  Mix in the egg yolks.  Mix in the vanilla and chocolate.

In another separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda and baking powder.  Alternate adding the flour mixture and the milk to the butter mixture, starting and ending with the flour mixture and mixing well after each addition.  Stir in the Oreos.  Fold the batter into the egg whites.  Fill the prepared cupcake liners almost to the top, you want the cupcakes to be tall.  Place the cupcake tray on a cookie sheet and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Oreo Frosting

  • 8 oz Cream Cheese, softened
  • 1/4 C Butter, softened
  • 3-4 C Powdered Sugar-use more or less depending on how stiff you want it
  • 1/2 t Vanilla
  • 3/4 C Crushed Oreos super fine (that was 8 regular Oreos)

Whip the cream cheese and the butter until light and fluffy.  Mix in the sugar, one cup at a time.  Add the vanilla and mix again.  Stir in the Oreos.

8 comments

  1. Ryan would loves these! . . . I’ll show him the receipe and maybe HE can make them 🙂


    • Awesome. Love that he’ll makes these for his mama!


  2. Hi! I love the sound of these, I must try them! How was the batter? and the shape of the cupcake, was it alright?


    • Joy-
      The batter is light because of the egg whites, the shape is perfect. The cupcakes are very tasty. We actually ate a bunch without the frosting they’re that good.
      Good luck!
      Karen


      • tell me again about the chocolate cordial cup inserted in the cupcake….are you filling it with milk after they take off the mini oreo? do u lift it out and then drink the milk with the cupcake? (im loving this!)


      • Joy-
        You fill it before you serve it so that you can dunk the mini oreo into the milk. It’s best to remove the cup before you really start to dig into the cupcake but that’s just me.
        Karen


  3. […] a little different. These fit the bill. I think that Meeshie likes these as much as she likes the oreo cupcakes, and that’s saying a […]


  4. […] is oreo cupcakes with oreo frosting.  These are so moist and yummy.  I’ve actually made cake pops with some leftover cupcakes […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

