h1

Pesto

July 14, 2010

I have an abundance of fresh basil.  I’ve already given some to my sister and I was fortunate enough to get an amazing pesto recipe from a friend of this blog.  She is the same lady who introduced me to truffle salt.  Thanks Denise!

I had planned to have this pesto last night for dinner but changed my mind as I was making it.  My husband likes pasta with lots of sauce and I wasn’t sure that this would make him happy.  Plus, generally I don’t make pasta in the summer.  I associate pasta with cool weather. 

I decided that we would have marinated chicken on the grill, and placed on toasted buns with provolone, garden tomato and this pesto.  Grilled zucchini will also be served. 

I love that this recipe actually browns the pine nuts and the garlic instead of just throwing everything into the food processor.  The aroma of the pine nuts and the garlic was heavenly while they toasted in the pan.  Once the basil was brought into the mix my mouth was watering and I wished that I had made the chicken sandwich right then.

The smell was heavenly, but the flavor was amazing.  This is the best pesto I’ve ever eaten.  Thanks again Denise!

Pesto

  • 1/4 C Pine Nuts
  • 3 Medium Garlic Cloves
  • 2 C Fresh Basil, packed
  • 7  T Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • Salt, to taste
  • 1/4 C Parmesan Cheese, finely grated

In a small skillet, toast the pine nuts over medium heat.  Stir frequently until just golden and fragrant, about 4-5 minutes.  Remove the pine nuts from the pan and set aside.  Add the garlic cloves (do not peel the garlic) to the empty pan.  Toast until fragrant and the color deepens, shaking occasionally, about 7 minutes.  Transfer the garlic to a plate, cool, peel and chop.  By heating the garlic first, you are opening up the flavor of the garlic. 

Place the basil in the food processor and chop.  Place the nuts, garlic, oil and salt in the food processor.  Process until smooth.  You may have to add a little bit more oil to get the consistency that you want.  Add the cheese and process again.

Toss on your favorite pasta.  Or dip it in bread. 

Or add it to a sandwich.

This can stay up to three days in a covered container in the fridge.  If you can keep yourself away from it, that is.

One comment

  1. […] in pasta.  I’m sure you could put them on hamburgers.  Or toasted bread.  Or mixed with pesto.  Or on a sandwich-like a grilled cheese.  Or do what we did, just eat them right out of the […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

