h1

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

July 13, 2010

I’m pretty excited that I have more than one zucchini from the garden.  Plus we are blueberry picking next week.  We look forward to blueberry picking all year.  My husband and I are very competitive and last year we picked 15 pounds of blueberries between the two of us.  Meeshie brought a friend and still didn’t put that many in the bucket.  She eats more than she brings home.  Good thing the blueberry farm doesn’t require us to weigh her before we leave.

The blueberry farms picking season only lasts about 3 weeks.  That’s not a lot of time.  It’s become a tradition to go between my husband’s birthday and Meeshie’s birthday.  We’ve gone when it’s over 100, we’ve gone in a downpour, we’ve gone and stood in line for 2 hours just to get to the fields.  You may think that’s crazy, and it is, but when it’s the middle of December and we have a hankering for a fresh blueberry pie it’s totally worth it.

I make this blueberry zucchini bread and Meeshie just thinks it’s blueberry bread.  I do have a wonderful recipe for that too which I’ll be posting soon.

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

  • 3 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 1 cup Vegetable Oil
  • 3 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 2 cups Sugar
  • 1/4 cup Brown Sugar
  • 3 cups Zucchini, Shredded
  • 3 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • ¼ teaspoons Baking Soda
  • 1 Tablespoon Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon Nutmeg
  • 1 pint Fresh Blueberries
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • ½ cups Flour
  • ¼ cups Brown Sugar
  • ¼ cups Sugar
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ½ cups Pecans, Chopped
  • ½ cups Butter, Softened
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease bread pans.

    In a large bowl, beat the eggs, oil, vanilla and sugar. Fold in the zucchini. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and nutmeg, leaving 2 tablespoons of flour on reserve. Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture.

    Dust the reserved 2 tablespoons of flour over the blueberries to coat. This will ensure that they do not sink to the bottom of the pan. Gently fold in the blueberries. Pour the batter into the bread pans.

    Make the crumb topping by combining the flour, sugars, cinnamon, pecans and butter together with your hands. Sprinkle over the top of the loaves.

    Bake for 50 -60 minutes until a knife inserted in the center of the loaf comes out clean. Cool for about 20 minutes in the pans before turning onto a wire rack to cool completely.

    This recipe is so moist and delicious.

    Enjoy!

    If you’re interested, here is the farm where we blueberry pick.

    11 comments

    1. Thanks — sounds like fun — I might try it!


      • Baking or picking the blueberries? Because if you’re going to bake-I MUST try it!


    2. I’ve never been blueberry picking….strawberry and raspberry, yes. How long does it take to pick 15 pounds of blueberries?


      • We are usually picking for about 2 hours. Meeshie starts to lose interest and then we go and have lunch. One year I’m going to fill up my bucket all by myself! I see those people with their buckets full and start to drool.


    3. What a fabulous combo for a bread…blueberries and zucchini! Great way of getting the veggies into the kiddos! 🙂


    4. […] was so busy making chili, and blueberry zucchini bread that I actually burned some of the tomatoes and they still were awesome.  My Italian neighbor came […]


    5. […] The recipe pairs this with blueberry muffins.  Which, I’m making right now.  I’m sure blueberry zucchini muffins would also […]


    6. […] I can make jam, muffins, pie, pancakes, blueberry buckle, blueberry zucchini bread  and […]


    7. I tried this recipe and it turned out pretty good. I made a few tweaks this time around, although next time I will probably add an extra cup of blueberries to the batter. It just didn’t seem like enough. I added oats to the topping in place of pecans, and I made a thick blueberry sauce that I drizzled over the top after it baked. I also had to bake mine for about 70 minutes before it was done. Overall, pretty good! Thanks for sharing this recipe. I’m sure I’ll be making it again.


      • Samuela
        So glad you enjoyed it. I love your addition of the oats! And adding more blueberry doesn’t sound bad at all. Thanks for sharing your comments
        Karen



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

