h1

Pancakes and More Pancakes

July 5, 2010

I love pancakes.

When I was a girl I would help my mom make them.  We would get out the big electric skillet and make 6 at a time.  We always made the largest amount on the box and have a few left after breakfast.  Sometimes we would have them with bacon and sometimes with sausage.  Pancakes may be the perfect breakfast food.  You can add almost anything to them, chocolate chips, bananas, blueberries or almonds.

When my husband and I were dating and we would camp we loved the fact that the mix only needed water to make the pancake.  But that same mix was horrible at home.  No flavor.  For years we tried to find the perfect pancake mix to make fluffy pancakes.  I finally found it a few years ago and the best part of this recipe is that the mix makes three separate servings of pancakes.  Plus pancakes freeze so well and you can have a great after mass breakfast any time of the week.

First I’m going to give you the instant pancake mix recipe.  I made both almond and blueberry pancakes yesterday with this mix.  This mix is simple and versatile. 

I love that I can just take it out of the pantry when I’m ready to make pancakes. 

Dry Pancake Mix

  • 6 C flour (all-purpose)
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 3 t baking powder
  • 1 T kosher salt
  • 2 T sugar
  • 2 T cinnamon
  • 1 t nutmeg

Combine all the ingredients together and store in a container with a secure lid.  The mix will store for about 3 months.

When you’re ready to make pancakes, take the mix out of the pantry and prepare with one of the following recipes.  You can see that it can be adapted to any pancake variation you like. 

Blueberry Pancakes

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 C buttermilk
  • 4 T melted butter
  • 2 C pancake mix
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 C blueberries (I use frozen because they are less delicate and easier to mix into the batter.  You can use fresh and add them to the skillet.)
  • butter for the pan

In a small bowl, whisk the egg whites and then add the buttermilk.  (I don’t normally keep buttermilk in the house.  Since we are skim milk drinkers, I put about 1/4 C of sour cream in a liquid measuring cup and fill the rest with the skim milk.  Then I whisk the mixture together to get the thick consistency of buttermilk.  I know about the vinegar added to the milk but I like this better.)  In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the melted butter.  Combine the buttermilk mixture with the egg yolk mixture.  Add the vanilla and whisk together until thoroughly combined. 

In a separate bowl, add the dry pancake mix.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry mix.  Using a whisk, mix the batter just enough to bring it together.  Fold in the frozen blueberries.  I like adding the blueberries to the batter because I can get more blueberries in each pancake that way. 

Prepare a frying pan or electric skillet.  The griddle is ready when a few drops of water dances across the surface.  Lightly butter the pan.  Gently ladle the batter on the griddle.    You can use whatever you like to measure them onto the pan.  I use a gravy ladle.

When the bubbles begin to set around the edges, and the pancake is golden, flip.  Continue to cook until the pancake is set.

Almond Pancakes

  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 2 C buttermilk
  • 4 T melted butter
  • 2 C pancake mix
  • 1/2  t almond extract
  • 1/2 C almonds, coarsely chopped
  • butter for the pan

In a small bowl, whisk the egg whites and then add the buttermilk.  In another bowl, whisk the egg yolks with the melted butter.  Combine the buttermilk mixture with the egg yolk mixture.  Add the almond extract and whisk together until thoroughly combined. 

In a separate bowl, add the dry pancake mix.  Pour the liquid ingredients over the dry mix.  Using a whisk, mix the batter just enough to bring it together.  Fold in the chopped almonds.  

Prepare a frying pan or electric skillet.  The griddle is ready when a few drops of water dances across the surface.  Lightly butter the pan.  Gently ladle the batter on the griddle.    You can use whatever you like to measure them onto the pan.  I use a gravy ladle.

When the bubbles begin to set around the edges, and the pancake is golden, flip.  Continue to cook until the pancake is set.

Because I use a gravy ladle, each recipe makes about 24 pancakes.  If you like your pancakes bigger, then obviously you’ll have less pancakes.

If you have leftover pancakes, put them on a cookie sheet in a single layer and place them in the freezer for 30-40 minutes to flash freeze.  Remove them from the cookie sheet and place them in a zip lock bag.  This will prevent them from sticking together in the bag making them easier to reheat later.

5 comments

  1. Oh, yum! I’m going to try making your homemade mix this week. =)


    • You can use it to make any pancake you want. You can just make plain ones by following the blueberry recipe and omitting the berries.


  2. […] Cathy gave me the recipe and I’ve tweaked to our tastes.  You can make them as is, or add blueberries, or chocolate chips, or bananas, or raspberries.  You can add pumpkin, or almonds […]


  3. […] Crinkle Cookie Pancakes! October 30, 2011 We love pancakes.  I have a wonderful scratch pancake mix that I keep in the pantry.  It’s a perfect recipe for the pancake lover in your life.  So is […]


  4. […] batter (I use this recipe, but use whatever you […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

