h1

Butterscotch Coffee Cake

June 25, 2010

When Meeshie was about a week old, my husband came home from work and handed me a piece of paper. 

You have to make this recipe.

I do?

Yes.  I had this today at work and you have to make it.  It’s awesome.

We had been invited to a get together at one of our neighbor’s houses that weekend so I decided I would give it a try.  Of course, I didn’t know these neighbors because we hadn’t been living in our house long before Meeshie came along.  I’m not afraid to make a new dish so I gave it a try.  It didn’t hurt that most of the ingredients are things that I keep in the pantry.

It was such a big hit.  I’ve made this cake again and again.  It’s best when it’s still warm but since it doesn’t really stay around long once I make it, it doesn’t really matter what temperature it is.  The pudding in the recipe makes it extra moist and if you love butterscotch, you will love this cake.  I’ve had others say they have put brown sugar on the top instead of the granulated sugar, but I’ve not tried that yet.  I think that would add an extra layer of yumminess, don’t you? Or maybe mix some brown sugar with the granulated sugar.

Butterscotch Coffee Cake

  • 1 box (18.25 Oz. Box) Yellow Cake Mix
  • 1 box (3.4 Oz. Box) Instant Vanilla Pudding
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • FOR THE TOPPING:

  • ⅓ cup Sugar
  • ¾ cup Chopped Pecans
  • ¾ cup Butterscotch Morsels
  • Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

    Mix the pudding as directed and let set. Add the cake mix and eggs to the pudding. Mix until blended and pour into a greased jelly roll pan. Mix the ingredients together for the topping, sprinkle on top of the cake. Bake for 30-35 minutes.

    3 comments

    1. That looks so good! I’m trying that this week! You are not going to be good for my weight loss. 🙂


      • Yes, but you can share your bounty with your family and feel less guilty about eating any treats!


    2. […] love one that’s easy and uses things from my pantry.  I have a very similar recipe for a coffee cake that I make with butterscotch morsels.  This one has an icing and is only limited by your […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

