h1

Tomato Bacon Dip

June 24, 2010

Once again, we had thunderstorms roll in yesterday.  The creek down the road has overflowed, again.  It seems like we’ve been a perpetual state of flood watch.  There was a hint of tornado talk yesterday evening too.  I love a good storm but I’m getting tired of the rain.  My husband said he feels like we live in Florida, I’m thinking Seattle. 

Since the rain is making me melancholy I want to share this recipe with you.

I made an amazing dip over the weekend. 

I found it on Tasty Kitchen and it was submitted by a friend I made on this blog.  She is a sweet lady that lives over the border in Wisconsin.  

I love a good dip.  When I saw this one I was immediately interested.  My husband loves BLT dip and I thought he might like this.  I liked that you didn’t need to cook a pound of bacon and mix it with a cup of mayo.  Let’s face it, BLT dip is not the most figure flattering dip going.  That’s probably why my husband likes it so much.  He likes BLT dip so much that when I told him I planned to make this dip he wasn’t exactly excited.  Until he tried it.  This dip has a lot of flavor and is very simple to make.  My only complaint about the dip is that I didn’t double it. 

As clarification, I do not have garlic salt, so I used granulated garlic instead.  Also, I peeled two Roma tomatoes but did not seed them.  Since I always serve BLT dip with toast, I served this dip with whole wheat crackers.

Tomato Bacon Dip

  • 8 Ounces Softened Cream Cheese
  • 1 Tablespoon Mayo
  • Garlic Salt, to taste
  • 1 Tomato – Peeled, Seeded, And Chopped
  • 6-8 Slices Of Bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • With a hand mixer, blend cream cheese, mayo and garlic salt.

    Continue mixing in tomatoes with the mixer to blend completely.

    When ready to serve, stir in the bacon.

    Serve with rye chips, Wheat Thins, bread pieces, or any cracker that would hold dip well. Fresh veggies also work well with this dip.

    Enjoy!

    6 comments

    1. Very creative recipe! I’ve never thought of this recipe before. Thanks for sharing.


    2. The garlic, garlic mixture from tastefully simple would be good in here too! Yummm, I’m going to try this. Now that tomatoes are getting good again.


      • Oh, you must tell me how it tastes with the garlic, garlic. I love your twist on this great recipe.


    3. Thanks for the kind words! It’s been a pleasure getting to know you. I also make this recipe with lowfat cream cheese and it’s just as good.


    4. […] Tomato Bacon Dip […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

