h1

Pulled Pork

June 12, 2010

We love pulled pork.

I used to always make pulled pork in the crock pot with the barbecue sauce but now I don’t. That’s because pulled pork is so versatile. Of course we love it as sandwich in barbeque sauce but we love it as a pulled pork taco too. Or enchiladas. Or quesadillas. It seems that using the meat without anything except the seasoning I cook it in really opens it to so many things.

Pulled Pork

  • 2-4 lb boneless pork shoulder
  • 1 package of dry Italian dressing seasoning (I use Good Seasons)
  • Onion, sliced
  • up to 2 C Water

Remove the string from the port roast and place the roast in the crock pot. Add enough water to the pot to cover the roast less than half way. Sprinkle the seasoning on top of the roast and add a few rings of sliced onion. Cook in the crock pot, on low, for 6-8 hours. Carefully remove the roast from the pot. It will be very tender. You can remove the onion from the roast or not. It’s up to you. Transport the roast to a plate and use two forks to shred.

When I’m ready to prepare the pork for a barbeque sandwich I add the desired amount to a pan along with barbecue sauce and honey. Right now we are on a KC Masterpiece kick but we also like Sweet Baby Ray’s. I’ll serve it a nice french roll with Swiss cheese. I know, Swiss cheese. I don’t know why, but it really adds to the flavor of the sandwich. Of course Meeshie doesn’t like Swiss cheese and some days she doesn’t even want the pulled pork on a roll but she loves barbecue pulled pork.

When I’m ready to prepare the pork for a taco or quesadilla I add the desired amount to a pan along with a small amount of water or chicken broth. Just enough so that the meat won’t stick to the pan while you heat it through. Then prepare the taco or quesadilla with whatever you like. The meat doesn’t need any additional seasoning, in my opinion. Just add whatever you want on your taco. I add cheese, salsa, lettuce, olives, and sour cream. I usually stick to just cheese when I make these quesadillas, but you could add grilled onion and mushrooms.

This meat freezes well too so you can have one meal and then pull the meat out of the freezer to enjoy it another way in a week or two. Or do like I did this week, have barbecue pulled pork sandwiches on Sunday and pulled pork quesadillas on Wednesday.

3 comments

  1. I’m so jealous- we didn’t plant our garden this year. Yours looks great. I printed the cajun potatoes recipe- they look yummy. I can’t wait to try them. Hope all is well. Talk to you soon.


    • You can have whatever extras my garden brings me!


  2. […] be made ahead and served later.  This pork enchilada dish is perfect for that.  Whenever I make pulled pork, I always leave some for this dish.  I love the how the pulled pork tastes in this dish, plus […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

