h1

A Worthy Cause

June 8, 2010

I started running about 15 years ago for two main reasons.  The first was I was fat and I wanted to get into shape.  The second was because I’m very uncoordinated and picked an exercise that requires less skill than stamina. 

So I run, at least three days a week.  Indoors.  I stopped running outside about 9 years ago when I got bit by a dog.  It traumatized me for a long while.  As a matter of fact, I ran outside for the first time a few weeks ago and I discovered that the ground does not move while you run.  I’ll bet you didn’t know that.  I know that I had forgotten.

My older brother also runs and for the last few years he has participated in the St. Jude’s Run to Peoria.   St. Jude’s Run to Peoria’s mission is to support the mission of ALSAC and to provide funds, raised through running events, to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital in Memphis, TN and the St. Jude Midwest Affiliate located in Peoria, IL. These funds are to be used for the continued research and care of children with cancer and other catastrophic diseases.

Here is his link if you would like to donate to this worthy cause.

Thank you.

2 comments

  1. Hi Karen,

    Carol L. gave me your blog address. I just had to write and tell you how much I enjoy reading it. Hats off to you for finding the time to post the things that you do as a working mom!

    Lisa


    • Thanks for the kind words. I’m glad you’re enjoying all my crazy rants!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

