h1

The Pasta Salad

May 16, 2010

I have this recipe for pasta salad that my girlfriend gave me a few years ago.  To say that this is The Pasta Salad is somewhat of an understatement.  I say that because I don’t like pasta salad.  For that matter, I don’t like potato salad, macaroni salad, three bean salad or coleslaw.  There is something about those cold salads of my youth that brings painful memories of picnics with neighbors.  Probably because my mother would make one of those salads and we would be forced to eat them. 

This pasta salad has the right amount of spices and peppers and so easy to make.  I truly love it.  Plus you could easily add some ham or chicken to it if that’s what you like.

Pasta Salad

  • 1 lb pasta, I like the tri-color rotini
  • 1 can black olive, sliced
  • 1/2-1 C purple onion, diced
  • 1/2-1 C red pepper, diced
  • 1/2-1 C green, yellow or orang pepper, diced ( I like a little of all three)
  • 1/4-1/2 C GFS brand salad seasoning with cheese (or their Trade East brand)
  • Italian salad dressing

Prepare the pasta.  Add the black olives, onion and peppers.  Use as much of each to your taste.  Toss in the salad seasoning, again add as much of that to your taste.   Let it sit for at least an hour.   Before you serve the salad toss with your favorite Italian salad dressing.

Enjoy!

3 comments

  1. What is GFS brand salad seasoning with cheese? Can something else be substituted for it?


    • GFS is a food supply store. They sell the seasoning with their name or Trade East brand. I’m not sure what you could substitute it with because that is what makes the salad so yummy. Do you have a GFS near you?


  2. Looks beautiful, and I know I’d love it! I’ll have to swing by GFS sometime and see if I can find that seasoning mix. 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

