h1

Emergency Revisited

April 30, 2010

It happened again last night. We had another hypoglycemic incident. Except this time I had to call 9-1-1. 

Last night was Meeshie’s school play and my husband had a doctor’s appointment so he met us there. When he got to school, I asked him if he had a chance to get anything to eat. 

Yep, two hot dogs.

  

  

Now I know that sounds like a decent quick meal, but he literally meant two hot dogs. On a plate, popped in the microwave, no bun. Nothing. 

When we got home we started our routine of winding down and getting ready for bed. Meeshie goes to bed at 8 p.m. not matter the season. I knew something was off though because it was my husband’s turn to sit with her at bed time with a book and he didn’t mention it. We used to read to her, but now she reads to us for a little while before bed. I got her settled in, we read and she went to bed. 

I found my husband just sitting downstairs in his chair. 

Did you want something to eat?

  

  

No response. 

Why don’t you check your blood?

  

  

No response. 

He eventually went upstairs and I thought he was checking his blood. He went to lay down. 

This never happened to me before. I suggest and he complies, sometimes I have to convince him but it doesn’t take long. 

I spent 45 minutes trying to get him to eat something, check his blood and/or drink a coke. Let me tell you I was by no means calm about it either. Nothing I tried to convince him to do as I asked was working. 

It got to the point that it woke up Meeshie and she became upset. By this time I had given up and called 9-1-1. 

What was the matter? Why wouldn’t he listen to me? 

I think this is the reason that we can’t have any more babies. Oh don’t get me wrong I would love to have another baby. Sometimes I dream about it. But this is reality and the reality is my husband’s health is not a stable as either one of us thinks. 

As I waited patiently for the paramedics to arrive, I knew that without a doubt God wants me to concentrate on helping my husband improve his health.

By the time the paramedics got to our house and they tested his sugar it was 31.

8 comments

  1. He is making me nervous. He needs to do a better job of keeping it in control. It’s been too close to the last one. Poor Mark! Yikes. It’s like he’s not paying enough attention to his health lately.


    • I know. I don’t know why this has been happening. He did tell the doctor about this last one though.


  2. How is Mark doing now? Most important how ru and claudia doing? U both must have been really scared.
    I can’t image how Mark feels either but he also has two other people he has to think about not just his self. I hope he has call or went to see his doctor and find out why this is happening to him. I’m sure he doesn’t want to here that he needs to eat right or keep snacks with him all the time but he needs to think about you and claudia. Let me know if there is anything I can do for you.


    • He’s doing better and he did talk to the doctor. Thanks.


  3. Karen: I’m sorry to hear about Mark’s health issues. It seems that since we’re all “grown up” now, the stress never ends! Please hang in there!


  4. Karen: This is really scary!! Glad to hear he talked to the doc about it. Will keep you guys in my prayers.


    • Thanks. I hope I won’t be blogging about this again.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

