h1

Help please!

April 28, 2010

I have these in my yard.  They are knock out roses.

I must admit that I am not a huge fan of roses, but these add a lot of color.  And they are hardy, or so I thought.  I usually have to trim these back three times a season, not including the last prune of the year.  I have four knockout rose bushes and two of them are dead.  No signs of life dead.

Does that look good to you?

Or this?

Is it the blasted japanese beetles?  We have them in abundance here. 

I have some traps from Gemplers that attracts both male and female beetles and in the hot summer months those puppies are FULL.  I love them because they are easy to clean and can be used year after year, you just need to purchase a lure once a year.  But the beetles seem to like my japanese maple and crabtree more than anything else in the yard.

Is it just that the roses are past their growth cycle?  They are coming on to their ninth season.  I thought the reason people planted roses is because they are so hardy.  Maybe I’m mistaken.

This one has signs of life.

This one too, all though it looks like it may only come back half way.

I’m not sure that I’ll have time to plant new bushes while the weather is still ideal.  I may have to wait until the fall to plant. I may just replace the two that are dead unless someone has a better suggestion.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

