h1

Banana Nut Bread

March 26, 2010

I made this wonderful banana bread and muffins last week to get ready for Easter.  I have a brunch and like to have muffins on hand.  It is a great recipe.  Once the muffins were out of the oven, Meeshie and my husband both had one.  I couldn’t eat one, though.  I gave up bread for lent.  I was really looking forward to a muffin on Easter but Meeshie and my husband have eaten them all.  Thankfully I still have this bread.

This bread is full of bananas.  Seven bananas to be exact.  The flavor really explodes in your mouth.

This bread also makes a really rich french toast sprinkled with powdered sugar and served with warm syrup!

Banana Nut Bread

  • 2 1/2 C flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 3/4 C butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 C light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 7 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 C chopped pecans

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Grease 2 loaf pans.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, soda and salt with a wire whisk; set aside.  In a large bowl cream the butter and sugar.  Add the eggs, bananas and vanilla.  Beat at medium speed until thick.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl.  Add the flour mixture and nuts.  Blend at low speed just until combined.  Do not overmix.  Pour the batter into the prepared pans.  Bake for 60-70 minutes.  A toothpick inserted in the center should come out clean and the bread should pull away from the sides.  Cool in the pan for 10 minutes.  Turn the pans on the side; cool to room temperature before removing and slicing.

I usually make this bread once I have 7 ripe bananas.  I just accumulate them and stick them in a bag in the freezer until I have the right amount.  The riper the banana, the better the bread!

4 comments

  1. Banana Nut Bread is my all-time favorite. I love your suggestion for freezing ripe bananas. Can’t believe I haven’t figured that out in all my years of baking. Thanks for sharing your yummy recipe. I look forward to trying it!


    • You are welcome! I hope that you enjoy it!


  2. I’m off to try it! I’m sure it’ll be great!


    • Rae-
      I hope that you enjoy it as much as we do. I actually have 5 bananas in the freezer waiting so that I can make this!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

