h1

It’s all Greek to me!

March 21, 2010

My girlfriend came over this weekend and we made some traditional Greek Easter cookies. 

This year Greek Orthodox Easter and Christian Easter are on the same day. 

We made a cookie called KOULOURIA.  They are crisp cookie, almost like a butter cookie.

When she sent me the recipe we went through the ingredients.  Since she was coming over to my house to make them we both wanted to be sure of what ingredients were on hand and which we needed to purchase.

Koulouria

  • 9 egg yolks
  • 2 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 1 t ammonia
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 2 C sugar
  • 1 C milk
  • 1 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1 box plus 2-3 cups of cake flour
  • Egg wash (we used the whites plus some oil)

Beat the butter, egg yolks and sugar until light in color.  Warm the milk and the ammonia and baking soda to the milk.  Add the milk mixture to the butter mixture.  Mix well.  Add the vanilla.  Add the box of cake flour.  Knead well.  Add the 2-3 cups of flour as needed.  The dough should be soft and not stick to your hands.  Refrigerate for 2-3 hours.  Roll out the dough and make into shapes such as ‘s’, knots, and coils. Brush with the beaten egg for color.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes until golden brown.  Makes about 80 cookies.

Please note that I told my friend that I had ammonia as well as the cake flour.  She laughed and told me that the ammonia was actually a powder.  I googled it.  It is similar to baking powder but it does smell like liquid ammonia.

Meeshie was more than helpful.  She made the coil shapes and some knots.  She even made some cookies that were ‘k’s and ‘c’s.

Here is a picture of the two ladies working hard on the Koulouria.

We had a good time.  I’m looking forward to getting together later in the year to make Greek Christmas cookies.

2 comments

  1. Correction to your Greek Easter/Christian Easter; Orthodoxy is also Christianity. The correct way to refer to the two Easter’s is Greek Orthodox Easter and Western Easter. I am appalled! No Christmas cookies for you!:)

    I had a very nice time too. Thanks for lunch!


  2. Not bad article, but I really miss that you didn’t express your opinion, but ok you just have different approach



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

