h1

Wind Flowers

March 1, 2010

Anemone-De Caen

I bought these bulbs yesterday. They are Anemone de Caen.  According to the package I can plant them in April and they will bloom in early summer.  They are supposed to be a good flower to cut and will last in a vase for about 5 days.

They caught my eye because I thought they were poppies.   According to a google search, the Anemone is also known as the ‘windflower’.  They grow up to 12 inches high and they need to be planted in partial sun to full shade.  I have a Japanese maple outside of my kitchen window that I have planted day lilies under but they struggle there.  Partly because of the lack of sun, maple is full and one of my favorite trees and partly because my hubby hits the lilies with the lawnmower every week.

I also found this information about the bulbs or corms.

Anemone blanda
These bulbs are hardy in zones 5 to 9, where they should be planted in fall for spring bloom. They will grow in full sun to
shade, and they naturalize easily. They should be kept moist throughout their growing season. They are adaptable to a variety of soil types. Soak the tubers in water for eight to ten hours before planting. Plant two inches apart and about three inches deep.

Anemone coronaria
These bulbs are hardy in zones 7 to 10, where they will naturalize easily. They do best in light shade in these warm areas. They should be planted in well-drained, humus-rich soil, and are adaptable to a wide range of pH levels and soil types. Soak the tubers for about twelve hours before planting. Plant two or three inches deep and about eight inches apart.

In colder areas, de Caen anemones can be planted in spring after danger of frost is past. They prefer full sun in colder areas. The tubers can be lifted and dried in the fall.

These are fast-growing flowers, so a sequence of plantings will result in all-summer bloom. Plant in April for June and July flowering and plant in June for September flowering.

I am concerned about pulling them out in the fall, I had dahlias once and you have to remove the bulbs in the fall and I never did.  How could I do that to this beautiful flower? 

Fidalgo Julie - Novelty Dahlia, orange and red

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

