h1

Oops!

February 17, 2010

 In my excitement and haste to post for Valentine’s Day, I did not give any information about what recipes I used to make the cake pops.
 


I know that I gave the Bakerella link to the pops but I did not make red velvet cake.

First, I made the chocolate sheet cake from Pioneer Woman without the frosting.
Ingredients:

2 C flour
2 C sugar
¼ t salt
1 C butter
4 T coca, heaping
1 C boiling water
½ C buttermilk
2 eggs, beaten
1 t baking soda
1 t vanilla


Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. In a bowl, combine the flour, sugar and salt.


In a saucepan, melt the butter and add the cocoa. Add the boiling water. Allow the mixture to boil for 30 seconds, and then turn off the heat. Pour this over the flour mixture and stir slightly to cool. In another bowl pour the buttermilk; add the eggs, baking soda and vanilla. Stir this into the flour mixture. Pour into a jelly roll pan and bake for 20 minutes.


Then I made the frosting recipe that was given to me by the great lady that had made the pops before.


Ingredients:


1/3 C white Crisco shortening, softened
1/3 C butter, softened
4-6 T of heavy whipping cream, unwhipped (I actually used half-n-half)
A pinch of salt
1 ½ t vanilla extract
2 ½ C confectioner’s sugar, sifted


In a large bowl using an electric mixer at medium speed beat together the shortening and butter with the cream, salt and vanilla until smooth (about 3 minutes). Add the confectioner’s sugar, beat well until smooth and fluffy. You can add more confectioner’s sugar and cream to achieve the desired consistency but for this use it was just how I wanted it.


Remember that I did this in stages over a few days so obviously the cake was cool when I crumpled it up and added about half of the frosting to it. I added enough to get a good consistency to pack the balls.


I put the balls on a cookie sheet and stuck the lollipop sticks in them and set them in the fridge.


The next day I melted the almond bark a little at a time, dipped the pops in it and added the heart sprinkles.

Remember to keep the pops cool, they are easier to dip that way.

3 comments

  1. The cake pops were delicious! Thanks for sharing 🙂


  2. What? Marie got cake pops! That is so unfair! You never bring me anything. You like her better than me. This is how conversations go in my house. Thought i'd give you a glimpse.


    • Yes it’s true. I like Marie best.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

